Cheese and Bacon-Stuffed Pasta Shells Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
This recipe was great, but needed a couple of changes. I added about a 1/4 lb of hamburger to bacon mixture and that turned out well, also gave me more shells to fill. With the shells, I would cook them for atleast 10 min instead of eight. They weren't all the way done and after baking they were hard on the edges. Also I wasn't too big of a fan of the tomato puree. Not too much flavor. I think next time I will just use ragu or prego sauce of my choice for extra flavor. Overall this recipe was pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alytholen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Logan, Utah, USA
Living In: Taylorsville, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Savanna Carlisle
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2007
My family LOVED this recipes!!! My 2 year old can be hard to please but it was no problem with this dinner and my husband finished off the leftovers by the next night! I made a few changes of my own which I felt made the recipe that much better. We're not big fans of bacon so I substituted the bacon for 3 Italian sausages. I removed the skin of them and chopped the meat up. Same cooking time and everything...just different meat. I found that using the sausage helped yield more shells as well. I also added a bit of shredded cheddar cheese on top since we're all such big cheese lovers. But this recipes is DEFINITELY one I will be making again real soon!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
This was tasteless as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
This was really good. I did make some changes (I used ricotta cheese instead of cream cheese. My bacon-crazy kids really liked this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northport, New York, USA
Living In: East Northport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
I liked this recipe..made it as is the first time except I used shredded cheese instead of Buffalo and wished I had used Ragu instead of tomato puree. The second time I tried this I got creative and added some shredded cooked chicken breast to the bacon/cream cheese mixture, used jar alfredo sauce instead of tomato puree and I used fresh shredded parm instead of mozerella on top and then backed the same. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
From the first bite we were making "mmm" noises. We really enjoyed this and will be making it a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chicken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Photo by Erimess
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
Mostly made as is. I didn't care to hunt down whatever 'Buffalo' mozzarella is so just used regular. (I'll have to check that out since I'm a cheese lover.) And I don't usually have smoked bacon -- meant to add a bit of my 'smoke in a bottle' but forgot. Not sure how much difference that would have made, because I didn't much see the point of the bacon. May be one of those things you notice more when it's missing, rather than when it's there. And this only filled I think about 2/3 the shells called for & that was not even stuffing them really good. They were pretty good, but not "great." Been quite some time since I've done large shells, so it was certainly something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2007
Did not like these at all. The taste of breadcrumbs was too overpowering. I didn't use fresh breadcrumbs but dried which may have been the reason. Per another review I did add cheddar cheese with the mozzarella. That was a good move. Other than that I can only suggest cutting the amount of breadcrumbs in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISTYLEE3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hellertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
pretty good. I used dry bread crumbs and it was too much, couldn't even taste the cream cheese. so more bacon, less bread crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
I had high hopes, but it just didn't work out. I thought the taste of the tomato puree was way overpowering. Using spaghetti sauce instead would've been a much better choice for our family. I subbed Italian seasoning for the rosemary since I don't care for it, and couldn't find Buffalo mozz so I used shredded. Nearly burned it since it was shredded and not chopped! (oops!!) I didn't have near enough filling for the pasta shells. Bummed, bummed, bummed. How many shells has everyone else used? I weighed out 8 oz but it was too many for the amount of filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Blanchard Angell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mason City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Four Cheese Pasta

Learn how to make a creamy four-cheese pasta sauce in less than 10 minutes.

Johnsonville® Three Cheese Pasta Primavera

Looking for a flavorful sausage recipe without all the fat? This is it!

Goat Cheese Apple Walnut Pasta

See how to make a quick and delicious pasta side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States