Cheese and Bacon Potato Rounds Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 17, 2006
I made these a few weeks ago and my hubby and I loved them. Today I wanted a single serving and didn't want to heat the oven to bake just one potato. I sliced one russet potato thinly and fried in a skillet (with butter) for about 5-7 minutes until they were tender and browned, then put the toppings on and covered the skillet for about 2 minutes until the cheese melted. They were perfect and saved a lot of time and I didn't have to heat up the house with the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
688 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2003
these were really good and simple to make, the only thing i would do different is make sure that the sheet that i cook them on is well greased with butter, i found that they stuck to it and i would salt the potaotes to give more flavor. but deffinitely a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
429 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gilly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2002
Ohh,sooo good! My son wanted skins for dinner but I was short on time and made these instead.To cut back on time and mess ,I melted butter in very small pan with 1/8 tsp. garlic powder. Tossed potatoe slices to coat. So much quicker than brushing. I used 4 medium white potatoes(I think any would do.)I baked 30min. Then topped with cheese and Oscar Mayer's real bacon bits in bag. Put back in oven about 2 min. more until melted. Watch, don't over bake. I will never go back to making the old fashioned skins again!! Thanks Michele!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
329 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Summer Anne
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
First I have to say - I had to try this recipe after I was disappointed by a similar appetizer at Smokey Bones restaurant. Wow... this recipe went above and beyond my expectations. And so easy to make as well! I was afraid they would be sub par since they are not fried but that was not the case. Much better than any standard potato skin I've had in a restaurant as well. I salt & peppered the potato slices before baking, and omitted the green onions because they just aren't for us. I turned the oven off when I pulled the slices out to top them, the retained heat in the oven was adequate to melt the cheese. Just be careful not to slice them to thin - I had a couple that were much thinner than the rest turn into blackened potato chips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Niceville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2006
YUMMY!! These were great. I'm not sure what is wrong with me, but I can never follow a recipe. I made just a few minor changes, I cut the potatoes, threw them into a bowl and tossed with just enough olive oil to coat. I also threw in the standard salt and pepper, but also added some dry ranch dressing mix for some added zip. I took the advice of other's by topping the spuds with sour cream before adding the cheese and bacon bits. They were so good, but what's not to love with ingredients like this? Thanks so much for a recipes that has already become a favorite in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2005
So simple and so delicious!! I spray the potato slices with a little butter-flavored Pam for convenience, and to cut down on calories. The only things I change are to add some seasoning - salt and pepper, and a little garlic powder. Also, I mix the bacon, cheese and onion with a little Ranch dressing so it is easier to spoon over the spuds. These are my standard pot luck contribution, and they are always appeciated. Thanks so much, Michele!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2003
These potatoes are absolutely wonderful -- made in my house at least once a week. They are definitely a double for potato skins without alot of skin -- even better for kids. I dip the potatoes into the butter - not quite as messy as brushing it on and also takes alot less time. I also used the prepared bacon bits as recommended in a review - takes very little time. Thanks !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Delicious and super easy! I cooked mine on a cookie cooling rack so I didn't have to flip them. Doing this also keeps the potato rounds from sitting in all that butter while cooking. I cooked my bacon in the oven (400 for 13 mins on a cookie cooling rack) before I started to make everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittany Owens

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2002
Awesome. Sprinkled with a little salt and pepper while baking. Added a little parsley flakes and some garlic powder to toppings. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2003
Instead of using onion, I added some onion salt just befor I put them in the oven. When I asked my kids how many stars out of five they gave these potatoes , they said 10!! I use my pampered chef stone and they crisped up beautifully. Even my potato-hating eleven year old said this was a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 433) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cheese and Bacon Potato Rounds

See how to make cheesy potato rounds with crumbled bacon.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Bacon and Potato Breakfast Strata

See how to make a cheesy breakfast strata with bacon and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States