Cheese and Bacon Potato Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 3, 2007
i added chives, sour cream, and sub. evaporated milk for milk. they were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crl's mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Braithwaite, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2006
Very very tasty! Fun to make, fun to eat! The leftover mashed potatoes are wonderful for next-day leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Berlin, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Oconomowoc, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
I'm going to do this recipe. And they sound great alternative to just mash potato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
This recipe is a fun and tasty one! Really loved the combination of potato, bacon and the cheese. But I would have to agree with other reviews that it balling and baking are extra efforts that do not make significant changes to the flavour of the mashed potatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
My whole family loves these! Though, i do roll the balls in fine cornflake crumbs before baking. It makes them a beautiful golden color and adds a little crispiness to the outside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
VERY tasty! However, I wish they would've remained round balls after baking, they spread out, but that may have been due to the sour cream I added. I would eliminate that next time. I also let them cook for a minute or two under the broiler to get them crispier on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
My husband really liked these. They were a bit to time intensive for me on a weeknight but definitely something I will repeat on the weekends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LeanneBrockway
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2005
This was a fun one to serve my son. He usually does not like potatoes but he enjoyed this flavorful version. They were easy to make and you can prepare them in advance and store them in the fridge until you are ready to put them in the oven. Instead of processed cheese I used grated cheddar cheese. I also recommend using the precooked bacon as it is easier to crumble. I also sprinkled the final product with parsley to improve the presentation. Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2005
Good Recipe - all favorite ingredients. Be sure to spray ice cream scoop w/nonstick spray and potatoes slip right out. Only reason didn't rate 5 is because they cooled off so very fast-but they looked great and were kid-sized! We'll think about how to keep them warmer next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
This was good, but for some reason I couldn't get them to come off the pan very easy. But the taste was still very good. I didn't change anything in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KGMAY80

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: East Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheese and Bacon Potato Rounds

See how to make cheesy potato rounds with crumbled bacon.

Bacon and Potato Breakfast Strata

See how to make a cheesy breakfast strata with bacon and potatoes.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States