Cheese and Bacon Potato Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
My whole family loves these! Though, i do roll the balls in fine cornflake crumbs before baking. It makes them a beautiful golden color and adds a little crispiness to the outside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2007
i added chives, sour cream, and sub. evaporated milk for milk. they were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crl's mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Braithwaite, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LeanneBrockway
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2005
This was a fun one to serve my son. He usually does not like potatoes but he enjoyed this flavorful version. They were easy to make and you can prepare them in advance and store them in the fridge until you are ready to put them in the oven. Instead of processed cheese I used grated cheddar cheese. I also recommend using the precooked bacon as it is easier to crumble. I also sprinkled the final product with parsley to improve the presentation. Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2005
Good Recipe - all favorite ingredients. Be sure to spray ice cream scoop w/nonstick spray and potatoes slip right out. Only reason didn't rate 5 is because they cooled off so very fast-but they looked great and were kid-sized! We'll think about how to keep them warmer next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2006
The taste of the mash was very nice. However I didn't feel that rolling the mash into balls and baking them added anything to the overall flavour. It was a lot of extra effort for very little result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
Not really sure what the purpose of this recipe is - it just tastes like mashed potatoes to me. Balling it and baking it just adds more work and no flavor or real change in texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
This was good ...something diffrent then just plain Old Mashed lacked a Lil flavor even with the bacon I'll make a again but add..... to my taste Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitestone, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
This was good, but for some reason I couldn't get them to come off the pan very easy. But the taste was still very good. I didn't change anything in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KGMAY80

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: East Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
VERY tasty! However, I wish they would've remained round balls after baking, they spread out, but that may have been due to the sour cream I added. I would eliminate that next time. I also let them cook for a minute or two under the broiler to get them crispier on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2006
Not easy to make at all and didn't turn out as nice as I hoped they would.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheese and Bacon Potato Rounds

See how to make cheesy potato rounds with crumbled bacon.

Bacon and Potato Breakfast Strata

See how to make a cheesy breakfast strata with bacon and potatoes.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States