Cheddar-Thyme Flaky Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
I've been searching for the perfect biscuit for a while now, and i've just found it. Flavourful, moist but still flaky, these were delicious! I'd make these again at the drop of a hat. I did have to add a touch of extra milk, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
Perfect as is. I experimented with using 1 1/2 cups of white flour and 1/2 cup whole wheat flour, and that worked very well too. Next time I'm going to try sprinkling a little grated cheese on top just before baking, in addition to the cheese mixed in the batter. This is a good biscuit to serve with gravy, or to make breadfast sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by delore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
I took a bite after they came out of the oven and literally stopped in my tracks and said "oh my god these are the best!" Double the cheese for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ADRI122

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2008
These were soooo good. I didn't have thyme so I just used cheddar and they were still delicious. Letting the dough sit for a while extra (15 minutes) made them rise a bit more and look more biscuit-y.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
Fantastic!!! I made these to gowith a pot roastfor supper,evreyone loedthem. The next morning I made a bacon, egg, and cheese breakfast sandwich, oh my God how delish! I will be making these for my family's Christmas brunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
Superb! If the limit were not 5 stars, I could have given it a lot more. I happened to have some cheddar cheese and fresh thyme on hand or I might not have made this - and I'm so glad I did - it's absolutely scrumptious. And I think I'm going to try substituting other fresh herbs for the thyme - with rosemary and then with dill. Not that the thyme isn't as good as anything needs to be - yum - but just because I think it might be equally good in other ways to go with various foods. I baked these biscuits till they were light golden brown, and then put them on top of a nice, heated, beef burgundy stew and baked it like that for a few more minutes. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nerdessence
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
Excellent biscuits. I added more cheese and some rosemary, but otherwise, these were wonderful. My husband devoured them. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nerdessence

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
These were a big hit at our Easter dinner. I used smoked cheddar to add an extra little something. I will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
Awesome, I substituted wheat pastry flour for white, buttermilk for the milk, and added 2 teaspoons of vinegar. The best I have ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
Great biscuit! Made exactly per recipe and loved it. But next time will do a little less thyme and alot more cheese : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Locust Grove, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cheddar Bay Biscuits

Check out these quick and tasty cheddar biscuits.

E-Z Drop Biscuits

See how to make quick-and-easy drop biscuits from scratch.

Vegan Whole Wheat Biscuits

Use coconut oil and almond milk to create totally vegan biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States