Cheddar-Thyme Flaky Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
I used fresh rosemary and loved the taste of these but baking time was 14 minutes, not 10 in my oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albert Lea, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
Made these last night with some beef brisket. Cut back on the thyme and found that the sugar made them a little too sweet for my taste. A tip for everyone - put your butter in the freezer for about 15 minutes until really cold and then using the large holes on your grater, grate the butter into the flour mixture. This makes it easier to incorporate the butter and makes a great flaky biscuit. I will definitely make these again but with less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
First time biscuit maker! I really liked them. Didn’t use thyme or cream of tartar. I used block cheddar and I shredded it myself, made the biscuits tastier. The dough was incredible easier to work with. I cut the circles using a disposable plastic cup, the size was perfect. Next time I think I’m going to use less sugar and maybe add some bacon into the dough. I’ll keep you posted. Hope the review helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bronxville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
I love the versatility of this recipe! I didn't have any thyme, so I used 1 finely diced and seeded jalapeno. Delicious! Now I'm making mozzarella- roasted garlic flaky biscuits. I can't wait until my husband gets home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trixie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
These were so delicious. They are just like the biscuits served at Red Lobster seafood restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EBONY3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Road Town, Tortola, British Virgin Islands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
These were tasty and baked up great. I think the 3T of sugar was a little too sweet for me, as I was making the biscuits for sausage/gravy at breakfast. Next time I would use less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAPHNE89

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
Superb! If the limit were not 5 stars, I could have given it a lot more. I happened to have some cheddar cheese and fresh thyme on hand or I might not have made this - and I'm so glad I did - it's absolutely scrumptious. And I think I'm going to try substituting other fresh herbs for the thyme - with rosemary and then with dill. Not that the thyme isn't as good as anything needs to be - yum - but just because I think it might be equally good in other ways to go with various foods. I baked these biscuits till they were light golden brown, and then put them on top of a nice, heated, beef burgundy stew and baked it like that for a few more minutes. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
Great biscuit! Made exactly per recipe and loved it. But next time will do a little less thyme and alot more cheese : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Locust Grove, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
Fantastic!!! I made these to gowith a pot roastfor supper,evreyone loedthem. The next morning I made a bacon, egg, and cheese breakfast sandwich, oh my God how delish! I will be making these for my family's Christmas brunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
Awesome, I substituted wheat pastry flour for white, buttermilk for the milk, and added 2 teaspoons of vinegar. The best I have ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

E-Z Drop Biscuits

See how to make quick-and-easy drop biscuits from scratch.

Vegan Whole Wheat Biscuits

Use coconut oil and almond milk to create totally vegan biscuits.

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States