Cheddar-Thyme Flaky Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
Big hit with my recipe club ladies. I did make some changes. Substituted 1/2 cup of flour for whole wheat and reduced sugar by half. Didn't have cream of tartar but it didn't keep these biscuits from coming out fluffy. Took the recommendation of another reviewer and grated the butter with a cheese grater. I LOVED this suggestion!! It made it so much easier to blend. Fabulous, quick and Very Easy biscuits. Will make for Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
Good and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
I am not quite sure what it is that I did wrong. The dough was too soft to roll out so needed more flour and it took twice the baking time. When all was said and done, they were incredibly delicious. I will certainly make these again. It will be interesting to find out if I end up with the same results or if tonight was just a bad baking night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
These were great! I've been looking for a good biscuit recipe for so long and these hit the spot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
These biscuits were a great hit with my boss! I made her borscht and these biscuits and she couldn't get enough. I added 1 teaspoon of sugar instead of three tablespoons and I also added a variety of herbs instead of just the thyme. Great recipe Laura. I also added another 1/2 c of cheese (Monterey Jack Jalapeno).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Carlson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hope, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Kitimat, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2009
Loved these biscuits! We made 50 servings for a board of trustees meeting and they were very popular. Easy to bake and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
These are so yummy! I did as someone else suggested and added a little more milk and made drop biscuits. Light & flaky! My 8 year old ate 3 of them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Dorr, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
This recipe is amazing! I've made it twice for bake sales, and both times have completely sold out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scarfmonster

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
I used this recipe to make a biscuit topping for a veggie casserole, kind of like a pot pie. It worked so well and was delicious! Quite versatile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missdish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
These did not turn out well at all. i dont know if it was just me or what. They did not rise at all, and had a very dense, not flaky, texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brandon, South Dakota, USA
Living In: South Hadley, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cheddar Bay Biscuits

Check out these quick and tasty cheddar biscuits.

E-Z Drop Biscuits

See how to make quick-and-easy drop biscuits from scratch.

Vegan Whole Wheat Biscuits

Use coconut oil and almond milk to create totally vegan biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States