Cheddar-Thyme Flaky Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
So good! I added about a teaspoon of garlic powder and baked these a little longer than what the recipe said. Otherwise delicious. I'm going to serve them with grilled trout and spinach. Thanks, this will now be my go to biscuit recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
not that great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
I love thyme so I knew I would like these but I was wrong. I loved them. Next time I will cut the sugar a bit and add a little more cheese because I love cheese too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Downes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA
Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
A little too sweet, but otherwise very good. Nice texture and I love the cheddar-thyme combo. Great with beef stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
My 14 yr. old son has made these twice & they are wonderful! He doesn't put any thyme in them because they would be too much like a stuffing for us. Love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
We made these for Christmas dinner and they were delicious! The whole family raved about them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chantilly, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
Instead of thyme, I put in ranch seasoning, and replaced part of the milk with ranch dressing. OH WOW. So tasty. The texture of these biscuits is quite good. They are light and fluffy, not heavy hard hockey pucks! Definitely making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KMWILSON98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dixon, Illinois, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
these were ok- they were not the flaky type I was hoping for, they were on the crumbly side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
I loved these! I used less sugar than the recipe called for, and buttermilk instead of regular milk. I also used whatever cheese I had which was some sliced porvalone (I chopped it) and some shredded cheddar cheese. However what really made them special was using a suggestion from another reviewer. I put the butter in the freezer for about 15 minutes, then grated it before incorporating into the flour. They came out super flakey! and the chopped provalone browned quite nicely adding to the flavor:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
With all the five star ratings, I admit that I was rather disappointed at the results. I made this recipe exactly as written. The biscuits were way too sweet for my liking (they were almost cake-sweet), and there was also too much salt in them, as I got an after-taste of salt when I took a bite. I did eat two biscuits to make a good judgment. One on the day I baked them, and one the next day, microwaved. They were a little better the second day. The real problem with the recipe is that the flavor of the biscuits are just out of balance. They did rise nicely, however, hence the 2 stars. I think that this recipe might have potential, but I haven't decided if I will try it again with some alterations, or just look for another recipe. Thanks for sharing this recipe, but I'm just not too sure about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smithsburg, Maryland, USA
Living In: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheddar Bay Biscuits

Check out these quick and tasty cheddar biscuits.

E-Z Drop Biscuits

See how to make quick-and-easy drop biscuits from scratch.

Vegan Whole Wheat Biscuits

Use coconut oil and almond milk to create totally vegan biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States