Cheddar Pull-Apart Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
added cup of shredded strong cheddar to the batter, used celery salt rather than regular. added 1 tsp granulated garlic & Onion. For topping, doubled the cheddar baked 27 min. It was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LindaT
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
This is a good start but needs some work. I agree with the comments here already - dough bland.. add some cayenne, salt something to actual dough itself. Add more cheese and use a strongly flavored cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
Easy and delicious! I just took these out of the oven and they are already half-eaten. My son has also now requested that I make these for his school lunches :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DanielMac

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
In reading the reviews and seeing that some found this bread to be bland, I took the liberty of adding a bit of onion into the dough along with additional cheddar cheese and some garlic and onion powders. The end result was so good and enjoyed by my whole family. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
Absolutely delicious made it with frozen bread dough (Rhodes brand) and everyone LOVED it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
I was sadly disappointed by this recipe... it wasn't terrible, but its not something I'm going to make again. We found it to be rather bland, even with adding extra cheese. It was a very heavy and dense bread, which wasn't what I was looking for. Not worth all the effort in my book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bainbridge, New York, USA
Living In: Franklin, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
Oh, wow! Is this bread yummy!! I didn't have the onions, so used minced garlic instead, also used twice as much cheese by adding it to the dough as well as the topping. I didn't have the celery seed either....so just omitted that. I made one large loaf in a bundt cake pan, kind of like monkey bread, and one that I rolled out, spread with the topping, then rolled up jelly roll style and baked. Both turned out fantastic and I am having to guard the remainder of the loaf so we will still have some by dinner time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by megannsmom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
I rated this as a 3 based on how it is as is. It DOES have a lot of potential, I just didn't think it had a lot of flavor (the bread itself, minus the cheese & onion). Would definitely DOUBLE the cheese, and make sure to use SHARP cheddar. Also, I would add grated cheese to the bread dough itself. I also added 2 T. Garlic Lover's Garlic (from spiceman.com) in with it to give it more flavor. I was afraid it would be too much, but I wish I would've added MORE, as it still wasn't enough flavor. Love the concept though, and it is a good hearty bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
These where good but there was too much onion for our liking. You do need all the water for the topping because it is mostly soaked up by the onions. I doubled the cheese and that was good. I will make again without the onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
Yum! I halved the recipe to make one loaf and as I was a little wary of putting so much liquid on my dough before it rose the second time i only used 1/4 c of water for the spice mixture. A hearty dinner bread with a lot of potential to switch up the spices to fit your meals. Think next time I'll use a little more cheddar as the 1/2 cup seemed to get a little lost in the finished result and I'm one of those cheese loving people lol overall very good result Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States