Cheddar Pennies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2004
This recipe was simple to make, but unfortunately we were disappointed with the results. We added extra salt, cayenne, and sharp cheddar cheese as well as garlic powder. Dispite all of the additions, the pennies were bland as could be. All we could taste was flour. We were really excited to try this recipe out, but we will not make it again. Thanks for sharing and sorry for the poor review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2004
Tasty. Like most I found this recipe to be to dry to form rolls and in need of more cayenne pepper. I will try it again using less flour and a little water. I pressed the dough out on the counter like making scratch biscuits and used a melon scooper to create quarter size coin. Also using extra sharp cheese makes for better cheese flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2004
After reading the reviews I cut down on the flour to 1 3/4 cups and also added garlic salt. Pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2003
Wonderful.Easy to follow recipe,easy to make. Taste's great!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Dearborn, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2003
Very good!! Not what I expected though, these are not like crackers you purchase in the store. I used my hands to knead the dough so it would form a ball. I made mine the size of 50-cent pieces and baked them for 20 minutes. I used cajin spice since I didn't have any white pepper. I also cut the slices,placed them on the cookie sheet, then used a small cookie cutter to make "cracker people". Next time I will add bacon-bits. I will use this recipe again! Yum-Yum!! OK, I added real bacon bits and they turned out fantastic! I entered them in our State Fair and won 1st place! I cut them out with a "doughnut holer" but I didn't roll them very thin. I love to snack on these!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2003
This are very tasy little morsels!! My husband and I kept popping them all evening! This is a vey easy recipe with wonderful results!! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2003
I wasn't very impressed either...I tried to cut the recipe in half so maybe that was part of the problem. But it was way too dry without the added water and not as tasty as I thought they would be. Like other reviewers suggested, adding other spices probably would have helped. Thanks for sharing, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2003
As suggested by another reviewer, I ended up just breaking pieces of dough and kind of flattening out to the shape of a penny. I added water to the dough, because I had a crumbly mess with just the butter. That probably messed up the dough by doing that, but just the melted butter did not work. I was the only one in the house that did not care for these, and part of that may have been frustration. They're not terrible, and if you have a lot of patience these may work for you, but I doubt I will make these again. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gordon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2003
These pennies are good. Mine were pretty crumbly but had a big cheese taste. My son didn't care for them, but that was a while back. Maybe I'll give them another try in the future...see if he's changed his mind. Thanks Adrienne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2003
Years ago when I pregnant with my youngest daughter, my doctor had just informed me that I had yet another "toes first" baby and that I was going to have a scheduled C-section again. With that, he handed me a sort of cheddar cracker. I could taste the cayenne and something crispy. I loved them and have been searching for a similar recipe since. I found this purely by accident yesterday and although some of the reviews were less than favorable, I decided to give them a try. Not that this is going to be of much help because I didn't measure anything, however, you experienced cooks out there will know what I mean. I used whatever shredded cheddar I had left over and put it in the food processor. I added my butter, a lot more cayenne than called for, some seasonings and about a third cup of flour. I pulsed and kept adding flour, a little at a time until it looked right. The dough was nice and moist and easy to handle. I also folded in a single serving of rice crispy's. I made them more like quarters and baked for about forty minutes. They were excellent and very much like what I had eaten in Dr. Cohen's office. Thanks Adrienne for a really good start and for the extra five pounds I probably gained yesterday munching on these little goodies. The kids and hubby loved them too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Cheddar Deviled Eggs

Make your deviled eggs better—with bacon!

Apple & Cheddar Cheese Soufflés

A feather-light soufflé with caramelized apples and sharp Cheddar.

Garlic Cheddar Chicken

See how to make a simple, top-rated baked chicken recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States