Cheddar Pennies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 31, 2014
Fantastic recipe! I added a bit more salt (about a 1/2 tsp) and about the same amount of Mrs Dash's Table blend to the dough. They tasted just like Gold Fish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shasty
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
Made these exactly as directed. My dough was super crumbly so I added hot water and it took about 1/2 C to get it to stick together. Baked for 23 min and they weren't very crispy so I added 5 more min. I didn't want to burn them so I took them out. We tried them but found them to be bland so I tossed them with a bit of garlic salt and they were much better. To me this was alot of butter with no reward. If a recipe calls for a stick of butter I am expecting indulgent...this just didn't have that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shasty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seneca, Missouri, USA
Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2010
Kind of boring and a lot of work. They didn't work with just the melted butter so I put them in the food processor and added water until it was a workable dough. I also used whole wheat flour. I doubt I'll bother trying again. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
After reading the reviews, I made my own version of these crackers. They turned out very well- a little spicy, and nice and cheesy. Here's what I did: Blend 1 cup all purpose flour, 1/4 t garlic powder, 1/4 t paprika, 1/8 t cayenne pepper, and 1/2 teaspoon seasoned salt in food processor. Add 1/4 cup cold butter that has been cut into little cubes. Pulse until the butter is well incorporated and the mixture looks like crumbs (you may need to scrape the sides of the bowl with a spatula). Add 6 ounces shredded cheddar cheese and process until the cheese is blended in, scraping with the spatula if necessary. Dump the mixture into a mixing bowl and add about 1 tablespoon of milk. Mix it in with your hands and add more milk (1/2 tablespoon or so at a time) until the dough just comes together. Then roll the dough into marble sized balls, put on a baking sheet, and flatten with the bottom of a glass. You an experiment with different thicknesses. Poke each cracker with a fork a couple times so they don't poof up when being baked. Sprinkle each cracker with a little kosher salt and press the salt in. Bake at 350 for about 15 minutes (depending on the thickness of your crackers), until the bottoms are a little toasted. Excess dough can be put in the fridge until it's time to bake, or if you accidentally add too much milk refrigerating the dough will make it easier to work with. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
I don't know if mine turned out like the recipe called for. They sort of reminded me of little mini cheddar biscuits. Like others, I found that my dough was really just a bunch of crumbs when I finished, so I added some hot water, which helped everything come together. Also like others, I could not "slice" this dough to save my life. So I just rolled small balls and thumb pressed them. These were ok, and I'll eat them, but they weren't compelling enough to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Tasteless, like I was eating flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NIFFER2525

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
These came out more like a shortbread cookie than a crunchy cracker. It was a bit dry for me. I used 1/2t cayenne and it was WAY TOO much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
I had a little bit of an issue making the dough firm. When I used the butter according to the recipe, the dough was very crumbly. I added another 1/4 C melted butter and it worked fine. Also, it says to chill it if necessary...and it was! What I ended up doing was spliting the dough in half, popping it in the freezer for a few minutes, and then taking it out, wrapping each half in plastic wrap, popped it in again for a few more minutes, and then pulled each one out and rolled it into a penny roll that way. It worked out great. Once they were rolled, I popped them in again for a few minutes to chill, then cut as directed. They baked great, are slightly crumbly, but still really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mands

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Great Falls, Montana, USA
Living In: Carroll, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
This recipie was slightly biscuitish. I would recommend more cheese & less flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
Way too much butter otherewise its a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Cheddar Deviled Eggs

Make your deviled eggs better—with bacon!

Apple & Cheddar Cheese Soufflés

A feather-light soufflé with caramelized apples and sharp Cheddar.

Garlic Cheddar Chicken

See how to make a simple, top-rated baked chicken recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States