Cheddar Pecan Wafers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
Very cheesy and they melt in your mouth. I didn't use cayenne as I tried it in another recipie and it was too hot. I just used a dash of garlic powder and these came out great. I only made a 1/2 recipie and ended up with 8 logs so it is a lot. I would quarter the recipie next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
these are amazing, I've made them countless times now, with cheddar and pecans as well as blue cheese and walnuts and they always go over amazingly. the dough also freezes extremely well... my only piece of advice is to use a pastry cutter when blending everything together. Well done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C Anthony

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baie Verte, Newfoundland, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
These are a delicious riff on regular cheese wafers. The addition of the pecans makes them a little sweeter, which is nice. It is VERY important to use the best quality cheddar that you can find. Buy the block and grate it yourself. Trust me-- you will realize the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
good, a little to buttery when finished almost greasy...wish they were crispier
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lawrence, Kansas, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
These are simply wonderful! But once you start, you can't stop!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
Simply delicious! Easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
I actually think that the original recipe calls for a little too much butter. When I bake these, I actually can taste the butter in them, and I do not think that is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Allendale, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2005
Very good. I used extra cayenne for an extra kick
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LITTLETURTLE30

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Coburg, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2003
WOW! These are the best crackers bar none! They have a very cheesy flavor, the ground toasted pecans along with the cayenne kick the flavor up a notch.Because of the stiffness of the mix, I prepare a half batch at a time, otherwise it kills your hands and arms trying to knead the mix. My friends love the little cheese crackers and buy them by the truckloads. I had them over for a little cocktail do, and surprised them with these crackers. They raved about these so much that I finally had to take them into the kitchen and make up some logs to send home with them.I put 1/2t of garlic powder and I used Extra Sharp Premium Label Tillamook Cheddar cheese. I ground my pecans so the dough wouldn't pull apart when cutting. I cut them 1/8th inch thick and baked them for 15 minutes for a crispy crunchy texture. I did a batch 1/4 in and baked for 12 minutes. When they cooled they crushed in your mouth rather than exploding with crispiness.You decide what texture you want then cut and bake accordingly.I can't say enough wonderful things about these crackers. I might be inclined to leave out the extra salt because the Cheddar is very salty and the cayenne adds to the feeling of saltiness. These are great! Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2003
I made these today and they were a total flop with my family. They were BLAND. Did I do something wrong? I'm anxious to see what others say. They were very easy to make, although my wrists will probably be sore tomorrow from all the kneading :-). I'd like to know what I can do to spice these up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

Caramel Pecan Pie

See how to make a nutty, buttery pie with a sweet touch of chewy caramel.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States