Cheddar Pecan Wafers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
i love this recipe. i work at a restaurant and i get request for cheese straws often but these are so much better. i added 1/4 tsp garlic and 1/4 tsp dried mustard. i also divided the recipe in half since it made so much at once. i used salted butter so i did not add the salt that was called for. i am sure i will use this recipe often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
I was looking for a non-sweet holiday treat to include in my gift box with cookies and these little crackers were just the thing. I followed the recipe exactly, only adding a dash of garlic powder like others had suggested. If you have a dough hook on your blender, I recommend using it - then you don't have to knead at all. Also, make sure you use a SHARP cheddar. I think this recipe is great, and I will try this again with other cheeses and nuts (I'm thinking asiago with pine nuts and blue cheese with walnuts.). Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
This recipe doesn't work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
Addictive! I did scale it to 27 servings, and still have leftovers from my party. I used a fairly good quality cheddar that I finely grated. For the pecans, I used the basic recipe off this site (melted butter and salt on the pecans in the oven for a bit), then pulsed them a few times in the food processor. Easier than I expected, I think I want to try this without the pecans so my allergic boyfriend can try them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
Very tasty snack! and addictive. once you make one you'll continue making them. as one of the other reviewers suggested i used only half of the ingredients and mixed the dough in a food processor. this eased the prep but the result is more crumbly like cracker. this is ok. for more textured effect, would stick to the original recipe or add the cheese at the end after blending the rest of the ingredients in the food processor, and knead the dough by hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
Never made crackers before but decided to try these. They were great, everyone loved them..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hudsonville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
I tried this recipe as written and it was awesome - for a cheese straw- with the name "wafer", I expected more of a cracker texture. My son loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
i am so happy to get this recipe i use to make this years ago only i used ceyanne pepper in it now i can make them again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
Over the years I have used a similar recipe using McLaren's Cheddar cheese; it is the one that comes in a round red container with a black cover..a very sharp cheddar cheese that add so very much more flavour to this style of wafer recipe...give it a try..it is really great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elayne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pelicangal
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
These were good. Had the consistency of a cookie. Very crumbly. I think it would be difficult to dip these or spread something on them as they would break up very easily. By the way, if you make a half recipe you can put these in the food processor and it makes very easy work of this recipe. Wouldn't try it with a full recipe (okay I did) but my big cuisinart couldn't take it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pelicangal

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookings, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Caramel Pecan Pie

See how to make a nutty, buttery pie with a sweet touch of chewy caramel.

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States