Cheddar Onion Drop Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
I've tried a couple of biscuit recipes that use buttermilk baking mix and they were excellent. What I found, however, by making THIS recipe is that the mix doesn't really shave any time off the preparation nor is the process necessarily simplified. These biscuits were mixed and on the baking sheet in no time. I wanted the freshness and color of green onion, so I chose to use that instead of the dried minced onion. I found I needed more buttermilk to bring the dough together, so since I had none left I used cream. They were perfectly baked and golden brown at 12 minutes. Once out of the oven I brushed them with melted garlic butter which gave them a boost of flavor as well as an attractive sheen. The Parmesan is a distinct flavor in the biscuits, so the title is just a little misleading. If you don't like Parmesan, you're not likely to care for these biscuits. They're SO pretty - very inviting. I appreciated their larger size compared to other drop biscuit recipes. They’re crusty on the outside, buttery and moist on the inside. Flavorful and just delicious. They’re just what I was after to accompany our soup tonight and I’m looking forward to enjoying one with some scrambled eggs in the morning too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
I chose to use fresh minced green onions in place of the dried onions. I found that I had to add an extra Tablespoon of buttermilk, then the batter came together nicely. I mixed and dropped the batter onto a parchment sheet. They baked up in 12 minutes leaving behind a wonderful cheddar aroma. The first thing I noticed were the pretty speckles of green onions with the yellow cheddar cheese baked in all over the biscuits. The biscuits feel light and airy to the touch and are a lovely golden color! They are moist, tender and very cheesy-just the way we like our biscuits! I could also taste the parmesan reggiano. I think these biscuits turned out just right, not too salty or dry. Flavorful and delicious! This went nicely with, "Beef Barley Vegetable Soup," also from this website. I also think these biscuits would complement a bowl of hearty beef stew or chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
All I have to say is YUM!!! These were fabulous! My kids loved them and are already begging me to make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly with the exception of: used milk and vinegar (had no buttermilk); diced and browned a small Vidalia onion in 1 Tbls. butter (had no dried onion); greased the baking sheet with shortening (no parchment); and added a pinch of garlic granules. I also made six large biscuits instead of 12 small (baking time and temp. was the same). These were great- the only thing I thought was maybe they could use more salt, but I recommend following the recipe the first time and deciding for yourself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin F.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Creston, Iowa, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Photo by gidgette
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
Great biscuits.. delicious! The outside had a golden brown crunchiness, and the inside is moist & very tasty! I did not have dried minced onion, so I used dried chives. The name should be changed to "Cheddar Parmesan Drop Biscuits".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gidgette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
I used green onions as other reviewers did and I also needed to add an extra splash of milk. I am lactose intolerant and didn't want to buy buttermilk just for this recipe so I put a Tablespoon of cider vinegar into a measuring cup and then added enough lactose-free milk to make the one cup needed. These biscuits are really delicious. The perfect accompaniment to my "wow, Fall is here" chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janet7th

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Scotia, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
I loved these and i don't even like biscuits that much! They are cheesy, moist and easy. I used powdered buttermilk with success-I rarely if ever buy fresh. The onion flavor was subtle but the perfect amount. Really good-not overpowering on the baking powder side which I really appreciate. I will definitely make them again! Quick, easy, and they were perfect with our pasta! A great side to help stretch a meal. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
These were very good but a little bland. I didn't have dried onion so I took other reviewers advice and used green onion. They came out pretty, but I wonder if that could have been part of the reason they weren't full in flavor. Will definitely make again but will try with the dried onion and see what happens. I also might add a little Old Bay Seasoning next time for added flavor. 11/26/11 update: I just made these a 2nd time because I had green onion and sharp cheddar that I wanted to use up. This time around I added more cheddar, a little more onion, and a dash of season salt. This batch was much more flavorful! Definitely 5 stars with those changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAG'S MOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
These biscuits are melt in your mouth - sooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
This is my first try at drop biscuits without a baking mix. These were very easy to quickly throw together and all the ingredients are things I always have on hand. They took 14 minutes to bake up to a nice golden crispy crust, with a moist buttery inside, with just the right amount hint of cheese flavors. I added 3 chopped scallions and needed a bit more buttermilk than the 1 cup called for to bring the flour mixture to the right consistency. This makes about 11-12 biscuits, so we had the leftovers for breakfast the next morning. I will be making these again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Cheddar Bay Biscuits

Check out these quick and tasty cheddar biscuits.

E-Z Drop Biscuits

See how to make quick-and-easy drop biscuits from scratch.

Oven-Baked Onion Rings

See how to make crispy onion rings in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States