Cheddar Ham Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
This received a rare all family (of 5) approval! Even my pickiest went back for more. I doubled the recipe and based on what I had on hand used both shredded cheese and Campbell's cheesy soup. I also only had one package of cream cheese for the double recipe, but there was no lack of creamy flavor. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
This hit the spot on a cool October evening. I chose not to peel the potatoes, I just scrubbed them and cubed them. The optional diced carrots and celery were added. I didn't measure them, just added a nice amount to the mix. I had to add additional milk as it was so thick you could have eaten it with a fork. I didn't measure it, I just added a small amount at a time until it reached the consistency I was looking for. The recipe doesn't say if you should drain the corn or not. Because of the thickness, I did not drain the corn. Served this with a few slices of crusty beer bread and we had an enjoyable dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Photo by andy
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
Mmmmmmmm...Great recipe! I removed the onion and substituted the cheese for a can of Campbell's condensed cheddar. Made it a double batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
My Grand Daughter loved this! Made it for her birthday as she requested. She is a very picky eater and I was so happy she loved it. I used the Green Giant Steamable Corn with Butter Sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Pierceton, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
Angela, the author of this recipe, is right. It's a great base. As she suggested, I added carrots, celery, some ham stock left over from our Easter ham and extra sharp cheddar. I used frozen corn and cooked it a bit before adding to the soup. Also added extra corn and ham. Extra pepper and a little more salt gave it a nice round base. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
I'm sorry for the low rating but this was a flop here. It didn't have a ton of flavor & the corn did NOT belong in this. Def would've preferred this as a ham & potato soup without crunchy/chewy kernels of corn to chew, chew, chew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Delicious! I followed the recipe, though I did use frozen white/yellow sweet corn, as opposed to canned, and I also prepped both pans (the white sauce and the veg) at the same time on different burners to reduce cook time. I also couldn't resist adding 2 tsps of yellow mustard to the white sauce and I'm glad I did; it really worked well. This is a very rich and hearty soup. THANKS for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I absolutely loved this recipe, both easy and delicious. Both my husband and I think it's one of the best soups we've ever had. A perfect winter's night comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States