Cheddar Flat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
timing drastically off, bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
I made this for dinner tonight with a Beef Stew. I made a few minor alterations for high altitude because I live in Denver. High altitude changes at the bottom of the post for anyone interested. Not sure what the issue was with the poster having trouble with water/milk temp. I used hot tap water, nuked about 20 seconds and nuked cold from the fridge milk for 45 seconds. Temps were perfect and I used a mixing bowl that I had pre-heated with hot tap water. My kitchen is a little cold today because outside temp is about 5 degrees right now. The only alteration I made not associated with altitude was to make one with the topping as written in the recipe and used the 2nd one for cinnamon and sugar (my family has a big sweet tooth :)). Just melted some butter and spread on top of the 2nd loaf, then sprinkled with 1/3 cup sugar and about a teaspoon or so of Cinnamon. This turned into a great bread to go with the soup and a yummy desert as well. Thanks for sharing! High Altitude changes (I live at about 6,000 feet): Reduced the yeast by 1/8 tsp. Increased flour by 2 TBS and increase water/milk by 1 TBS each. Also to compensate for altitude I increased oven temp by 15 degrees and decreased cooking time by 5 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Englewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
I liked the bread although i did not worry about the temprature of the milk just as long as it was warm. And i used a 12 grain flour which made it a heavier bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
Yum. I made several alterations (used half rye flour, muenster cheese, reduced the amount of melted butter for the top) and it was quite tasty as a flat dipping bread for chicken tikka. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAWNEY112

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
I only made the bread portion of this recipe (followed it exactly) and it turned out great. Thank you Joan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NurseJanice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: May 17, 2009
I used whole wheat flour instead of white, and honey in place of the sugar. This is some of the best bread we've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
Big hit with my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
I followed this recipe with slight adjustments to the seasonings. I used chives instead of the onion which gave great color and softer flavor. It was a huge success and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2007
The Milk and water, i found hard to get the right temperture. It took a long time. The was not bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Bournemouth, Dorset, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2006
nathan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States