Cheddar Flat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
timing drastically off, bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
I made this for dinner tonight with a Beef Stew. I made a few minor alterations for high altitude because I live in Denver. High altitude changes at the bottom of the post for anyone interested. Not sure what the issue was with the poster having trouble with water/milk temp. I used hot tap water, nuked about 20 seconds and nuked cold from the fridge milk for 45 seconds. Temps were perfect and I used a mixing bowl that I had pre-heated with hot tap water. My kitchen is a little cold today because outside temp is about 5 degrees right now. The only alteration I made not associated with altitude was to make one with the topping as written in the recipe and used the 2nd one for cinnamon and sugar (my family has a big sweet tooth :)). Just melted some butter and spread on top of the 2nd loaf, then sprinkled with 1/3 cup sugar and about a teaspoon or so of Cinnamon. This turned into a great bread to go with the soup and a yummy desert as well. Thanks for sharing! High Altitude changes (I live at about 6,000 feet): Reduced the yeast by 1/8 tsp. Increased flour by 2 TBS and increase water/milk by 1 TBS each. Also to compensate for altitude I increased oven temp by 15 degrees and decreased cooking time by 5 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Englewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
I liked the bread although i did not worry about the temprature of the milk just as long as it was warm. And i used a 12 grain flour which made it a heavier bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
Yum. I made several alterations (used half rye flour, muenster cheese, reduced the amount of melted butter for the top) and it was quite tasty as a flat dipping bread for chicken tikka. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAWNEY112

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
I only made the bread portion of this recipe (followed it exactly) and it turned out great. Thank you Joan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NurseJanice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: May 17, 2009
I used whole wheat flour instead of white, and honey in place of the sugar. This is some of the best bread we've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
Big hit with my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
I followed this recipe with slight adjustments to the seasonings. I used chives instead of the onion which gave great color and softer flavor. It was a huge success and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2007
The Milk and water, i found hard to get the right temperture. It took a long time. The was not bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Bournemouth, Dorset, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2006
nathan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States