Cheddar Dill Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
These are wonderful! I make them fairly regularly, as they are very versatile to be either a brunch, dinner, or snacking muffin. I do add an extra half cup of cheese, and have to reduce the flour slightly because I make them with rice flour. However, two TBSP of baking powder seems to be waaay too much leavening agent, and I even considered that it could possibly be a recipe typo. I reduced the amount of baking powder down to 2 TSP and still ended up with beautiful fluffy muffins. Mmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Chewelah, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
Good, I added an extra cup of cheese and about a tablespoon of dijon mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenbeth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
I really enjoyed these (and so did the husband!). I didn't have an egg so i added a little water, oil and extra baking powder to substitute. I probably added more cheese than called for but I didn't measure it. Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cwscov

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
very tasty. the dill is not too strong and overpowering, but I did add extra cheese to the mix and then sprinkled the tops with some. MUST use sharp cheddar, not mild or medium!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wynter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
These were ok-not quite what I was hoping for. They were pretty good right out of the oven but not so great once they cooled. They are very biscuit like in texture, probably because of the baking powder. I added a lot more cheese and cut the dill in half. Still looking for a good savory muffin, one that's not a biscuit in disguise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
Not as good as Red Lobsters Cheddar Dill muffins. I was looking for something simaler but healthier, I think after this experiment I'll just mess around with the Red Lobster recipe. Their texture was good and it did have just a little to much dill. I did use dried the recipe didn't specify. I would probably cut the dill in half and use a sharp cheddar or extra sharp cheddar but I probably will not be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skuba

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Delaware, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
I thought there was just too much dill (and I like dill!) but not enough cheese. Not my favorite, unfortunately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
Mmmm! These are so good served with chili. I made a few changes to the recipe like adding LOTS more cheese. I used about 2 cups total and put cheese on the tops before they baked. I also put in green onions. Delicious! Edited to add: these do not keep well. Eat them straight out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
Flavour is great!! We are really enjoying these muffins. Unfortunately they seem to stick to the paper liners (which totally sucks, I'm losing 15% of the muffin!!). Next time I'll skip the paper and grease a pan. I will definitely be making them again though! (I may have also increased my cheese to 1.5 cups. I didn't measuer that part).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2007
These were light, fluffy and delicious. We couldn't taste the dill at all and only a little of the cheddar but they still deserve 5 stars. I would just recommend adding a little more dill and cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States