Cheddar Crackers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2006
I made this for a large event and got tons and tons of raves! The crackers tasted just like cheeze-its to me and to the other event participants. I used yellow mustard instea dof mustard pwd and added it after cutting in the butter and i used a very sharp cheddar and a good 1/2 cup more per batch than called for. I was able to process the dough in my food processor. After chilling i rolled it out and cut it into shapes with cookie cutters and baked as directed. I also used "paste" food coloring to color the dough for a presentation piece and it worked very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ruth
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
I really like this recipe. I adjusted it to be gluten-free, using one cup white rice flour, and one cup garfava flour in place of the all-purpose flour (plus 3/4 teaspoon xanthan gum). I also followed the suggestion to replace the white pepper with cayenne, since I wanted them to taste like Cheez-Its. I used 1/2 cup butter instead of 3/4 cup, and I used 1 cup of cheese, not 1/2 cup, as many others had suggested. I think the crackers would have been even cheesier if I'd have used sharp cheddar, but I bought mild cheddar by mistake. The recipe worked really well, only I had to bake them much longer to get them done enough, but that could very well be because of the different flours I used. I will be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruth

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2003
I was looking for a cracker recipe to replace expensive commercially-made crackers. These did not taste like crackers at all, in fact they tasted exactly like pie crust-- so I checked my copy of Rose Levy Beranbaum's book, "The Pie and Pastry Bible" and sure enough I found that her recipe for "Flaky Cheddar Pie Crust" is almost IDENTICAL to this recipe. I will make this again as a pie crust for a savory pie, but not as crackers. It was also not very cheesy tasting, even though I doubled amount of cheese the recipe called for AND added in some grated romano cheese. I also salted them lightly with regular table salt before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
These taste just like Cheezits. I even used all whole wheat flour. I did as others suggested and doubled the cheese. As with any recipe that calls for cutting in butter you have to take your time and make sure the butter stays cold during this step by putting the mixture back in the fridge if the butter starts to soften too much while cutting it in. This way the ingredients are evenly distributed throughout the dough. I am really excited because now I can use a small cookie cutter and have any shape cheezit I want! I love to have lots of pretty appitizers. Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TX Tigress
Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2002
I've been looking for that recipe for so long - many thanks from Germany!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2007
Exellent recipe. Can also be made with barley or rice flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by My4boys
Reviewed: May 26, 2010
These did not taste like crackers to me. I was dissapointed. I wont be making these ones again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4boys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
I agree with the other reviews in this being more suited as a pie crust recipe. I was looking for a recipe similar to one I used to make as a kid - it contained much less butter which made the crackers quite dense and smooth. I will have to keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2004
These really are very good. I used sharp cheedar. And I think I will use a little more cheese next time, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2006
i forgot to add the cheese but they still tasted great. without the cheese i needed to add several more tablespoons of water. the taste was a combo between pie crust and saltines; interesting, but good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corinne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Cheesy Crackers

See how to make delicious homemade cheesy crackers.

Bacon Cheddar Deviled Eggs

Make your deviled eggs better—with bacon!

Apple & Cheddar Cheese Soufflés

A feather-light soufflé with caramelized apples and sharp Cheddar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States