Cheddar Crackers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2002
I've been looking for that recipe for so long - many thanks from Germany!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2003
A bit on the dry side.My first attempt at making crackers, so it could have been the dook!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2003
I was looking for a cracker recipe to replace expensive commercially-made crackers. These did not taste like crackers at all, in fact they tasted exactly like pie crust-- so I checked my copy of Rose Levy Beranbaum's book, "The Pie and Pastry Bible" and sure enough I found that her recipe for "Flaky Cheddar Pie Crust" is almost IDENTICAL to this recipe. I will make this again as a pie crust for a savory pie, but not as crackers. It was also not very cheesy tasting, even though I doubled amount of cheese the recipe called for AND added in some grated romano cheese. I also salted them lightly with regular table salt before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2004
These really are very good. I used sharp cheedar. And I think I will use a little more cheese next time, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2006
i forgot to add the cheese but they still tasted great. without the cheese i needed to add several more tablespoons of water. the taste was a combo between pie crust and saltines; interesting, but good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corinne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2006
I made this for a large event and got tons and tons of raves! The crackers tasted just like cheeze-its to me and to the other event participants. I used yellow mustard instea dof mustard pwd and added it after cutting in the butter and i used a very sharp cheddar and a good 1/2 cup more per batch than called for. I was able to process the dough in my food processor. After chilling i rolled it out and cut it into shapes with cookie cutters and baked as directed. I also used "paste" food coloring to color the dough for a presentation piece and it worked very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
Really good just the way it is and will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Auburndale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
I agree with the other reviews in this being more suited as a pie crust recipe. I was looking for a recipe similar to one I used to make as a kid - it contained much less butter which made the crackers quite dense and smooth. I will have to keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2007
Exellent recipe. Can also be made with barley or rice flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ruth
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
I really like this recipe. I adjusted it to be gluten-free, using one cup white rice flour, and one cup garfava flour in place of the all-purpose flour (plus 3/4 teaspoon xanthan gum). I also followed the suggestion to replace the white pepper with cayenne, since I wanted them to taste like Cheez-Its. I used 1/2 cup butter instead of 3/4 cup, and I used 1 cup of cheese, not 1/2 cup, as many others had suggested. I think the crackers would have been even cheesier if I'd have used sharp cheddar, but I bought mild cheddar by mistake. The recipe worked really well, only I had to bake them much longer to get them done enough, but that could very well be because of the different flours I used. I will be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruth

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Cheesy Crackers

See how to make delicious homemade cheesy crackers.

Jalapeno Bacon Cheddar Deviled Eggs

A spicy change to regular deviled eggs.

Bacon Cheddar Deviled Eggs

Make your deviled eggs better—with bacon!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States