Cheddar Corn Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
Pretty food. A recipe that can be adjusted to suit your tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by princesa97

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
I loved these - we went for a more southwest style meal. Here's what we did: add a 4oz can diced chilies, and serve topped with refried beans, sour cream, salsa, and sliced avocados. I was looking for a recipe that could work this way, and this one totally does. I have added grated zucchini, chopped sauteed onions, chopped kale, and other veggies to the batter in the past with great results. I'm not sure I would like these with maple syrup...but great for dinner with all the toppings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
This is a great recipe. I substituted whole wheat flour for white and used havarti cheese. YUMMY I froze some and they held up fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: St. Marys, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Guelph, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
These were good, I'd call them corn cakes instead of pancakes and I was told by the dad I made them for today that they were dry. He had never heard of making them with cornmeal so may be a little less cornmeal?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacie Bonner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hornbeck, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
I decreased the corn meal to 2/3 cup and increased the flour by 1/3 cup. ** I local restaurant (ower is from S.America) serves corn cakes with COTILLA cheese to be sprinkled (generously) on top. It a white cheese that can be grated (not as firm of a texture as parmesan or romano - it's light and has a hint of sea salt). It's an awesome addition (the sweet & salt contrast with the syrup)! Our large food chains carry it but I'm sure there are parts of the country where you might need to look for it at a cheese specialty shop or a grocery that caters to the Hispanic community.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
Added extra cheese cut in small chunks(used a lite variety). Added more corn, a 1/2 can of creamed corn, some chopped cauliflower (about 3/4 cup), and 2 Tbsps mild jalepeno peppers, chopped. Added little more flour and baking powder and fried this like fritters, and.... oh my - they turned out delicious! Try them spread with a little hot pepper jelly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4n20blackbirds

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: College Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Amherst, New Hampshire, USA
Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
These were good, but we found that they could use more cheese. We flipped the pancake, then sprinkled on extra cheese. That made them better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
I tried out this recipe last week, and found the results to be mediocre. SO, I tried it again this weekend with some changes. I raided a PACKET OF POWDERED CHEESE from a mac n'cheese box and stirred it into 1/4 cup SOUR CREAM and stirred that into the batter. Also, I added 1/2 cup more shredded CHEDDAR CHEESE and the pancakes were superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendini

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
I tried this and added a few things to change it up a little with leftovers. I added some cream corn with the liquids and some left over chicken I had. served it with sour cream and salsa it was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fran

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2007
Too much corn meal made them a little too firm, would prefer more leavaning too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pancakes I

See how to make a simple 5-star pancake recipe.

My-Hop Pancakes

These fluffy hotcakes resemble those from a certain pancake house.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States