Cheddar Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2005
I love this recipe except I use italian breadcrumbs instead of cornflakes. What I do to add extra flavor is I melt the butter and also fry a clove or two of minced garlic in it, and then once the butter is melted it sits for twenty minutes to meld the garlic flavor into the butter. I then dip the chicken in the garlic butter and then into the breadcrumb/cheese mixture. Add a little more cheddar on top toward the end of baking. This is some of the moistest chicken I've had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Hartford, New York, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2002
This was a wonderful dish that I assure you the entire family will love. And I promise there are never "left overs" when I cook this for my family. Thank you Karen for an easy and tasty dish!! Darcy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2000
I didn't really care for this recipe but some of it may be my fault as I used low fat cheddar cheese. I think I should've covered the dish since I used low fat because the cheddar became hard and crusty. My fiance loved it and I liked the flavor that the cornflakes gave the chicken but I don't think I'll make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2002
Been meaning to try this one for a few weeks now because of all the rave review - finally got to it tonight only to discover halfway into getting it all set up I had NO cheddar left in the fridge! Used shredded colby/jack mix instead - and when the coating really wouldn't stick to the chicken at all - I lost faith and only used 2 whole chicken breasts vs the 8 halves the recipe called for - and broiled the rest *plain* to use as backup if this turned out inedible. In my disgust, I threw the rest of the butter and cornflake/cheese mix on top of the two breasts and put it in the oven - and WOW was I sorry I didn't use more chicken!! We LOVED the recipe - and wolfed down the pitiful two breasts I made and were both sorry I ever doubted all the reviews. VERY tasty - though it didn't seem like it would work out well at first - this one will definitely be made again (and the colby/jack cheese turned out great - almost hesitant to use cheddar next time - since why mess with perfection?) Thanks so much for a fantastic easy and tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glenshaw, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Mint Hill, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2003
Hate to pull a Simon Cowell, but I absolutely did not like this dish. I followed all recipe instructions except I added a pinch of garlic powder and used less butter (perhaps I shouldn't have cut down on the butter?). Also, I used freshly shredded parmesan which probably did not mix as well as the grated kind. But the upshot is: it tasted like someone had prepared their morning cornflakes on top of my chicken. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westfield, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
Very good I will be making this often. I did put salt and pepper in the cheese mix as other people suggested. My husband wants more!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLIEANNA83

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, Kansas, USA
Living In: Weeping Water, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2000
Average chicken dish. Probably won't make again. I love chicken but this one didn't hit the spot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
This recipe is great, as is! I added a little extra cheddar cheese, and made sure to put all the extra cheese mixture on top. 40 minutes was perfect for my oven. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Great taste for an everyday family meal. Easy to make! Everyone liked it. Would add more cornflakes next time, not crunchy enough on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
This recipe is very good and so easy. I made no changes to this recipe at all, and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachel.williams

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 231) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Cheddar Chicken

See how to make a simple, top-rated baked chicken recipe.

Oh-So-Good Chicken

This cheesy chicken and rice casserole stars salsa, sour cream, and mushrooms.

Easy Chicken Tetrazzini

See how to make an easy baked chicken tetrazzini.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States