Cheddar Cheese Straws Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2015
These came out wonderful, I used pepperjack cheese and did add the cayenne as my son and his friends love spicy things! I rolled them out about 1/4 inch thick and cut them with a pizza cutter into long strips. I did bake them about 8 minutes, and then did let them sit in the oven after it was turned off to get them to be a bit more crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SKOOLGIRL_31

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
I cooked mine for 5 minutes, flipped them, and then 5 minutes more. Perfectly golden and delicious. Disappeared faster than I could make them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
Pretty tasty, but mine took MUCH longer than 5 minutes to brown - closer to 15...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
Loved it! Easy and super yummy! Added a bit of garlic salt instead of the pepper and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
After making the dough into straws, I garnish them using one beaten egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I followed recipe exactly. Puffy, not crispy ... and very bland. I tried cooking in different forms when first pan was doughy .. but nothing worked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
I needed about 1/4 c. of water, not the 1/2 c. Needed to bake about 10 minutes, not 5. Good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
The recipe calls for shredded cheeses and then changes to grated, but I used shreds. I also used 3-cheese blend which was good. Hard to shape in any appetizing form, but they were tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachael Walkins

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Franklin, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
These are some of the worst cheese straws i ever made. First, NEVER add leavening such as baking powder--you will get puffy, not cracker like products. Second, the oven temp is too high and the baking time way too short. 375 for 12-15 minutes produce the best product. Third, 1/2 cup water is too much, just enough to moisten dough and bring together. Fourth, hand mixing is a very poor method, use a food processor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
These turned ot pretty good. I had to leve them in long than stated but that's okay. They had something missing but nobody could figure it out, well I guess the fact that there was only five left at the end of evening guess that says it..it wasn't that important.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Chapman
Home Town: Darwen, Lancashire, England, U.K.
Living In: Concord, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple & Cheddar Cheese Soufflés

A feather-light soufflé with caramelized apples and sharp Cheddar.

Cheddar Bay Biscuits

Check out these quick and tasty cheddar biscuits.

Southern Pimento Cheese

See how to make a creamy, slightly spicy pimento cheese spread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States