Cheddar Cheese Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
I didn't have dry milk powder so I substituted the water with milk. The bread turned out perfect. It could have been cheesier. I used shredded sharp cheddar cheese. Maybe I will try it next time with small cubes of cheese. Very good and very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren Kunkle Dunbar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fenton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2003
Excellent cheese bread. I used extra sharp cheddar. Be sure and use yellow instead of white though for that cheesy yellow color. Fantastic warm from the bread maker. Toasted with over easy eggs on top for breakfast is to die for. My rose too high and collapsed on top too so it wasn't really pretty but still very tasty. I use yeast in a jar measured by 2 1/4 tsp. = 1 pkg. yeast. Maybe I'll only use 2 tsp. next time. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUSTCYN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Bay Minette, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2008
wonderful for me and my bread machine...didn't have the milk powder so omitted it...otherwise...great recipe for me...update made it again and used the italiano blend from Kraft...and was NOT disappointed nice texture...but again i did not have milk powder but it was very good and cheesy and lite...thanks again for the recipe!...update again...i used the recipe to make buns and they turned out so nice and will make a great ham and cheese bunwich...it is a great recipe and i did it again tonite...used marble cheese and demera sugar...coz that is what i had but it is a good recipe to use forsure
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2007
Wow! This was yummy. No bread machine here, so I used my KitchenAid mixer, proofed the yeast with the sugar and then mixed in the rest. I forgot to add the butter and used 2 T of buttermilk powder in place of the powdered milk, which I didn't have. I also added about a tsp. of dried minced garlic. Rolled it into a rectangle after rising, sprinkled with cheese, rolled up jellyroll style and curled it into a spiral in a 9" cake pan. Brushed with olive oil after it rose and baked till done. Big hit with the family - it came out tasting almost like a croissant and was light and flaky and moist. I plan on trying this again but with bittersweet chocolate instead of the cheese a'la French chocolate bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2005
I have been searching for this recipe ever since purchasing a loaf at an Amish Bakery. According to the ingredients listed, I think this is it! This Cheese Bread has a wonderful home baked flavor with splashes of mild cheddar cheese that is to die for! I make a snack out of this bread, and is good served at room temperature, or slightly warmed in the microwave to bring out it's wonderful flavor even more! The only difference I can see is that the Amish bake their's in the oven opposed to a bread machine, and sprinkle the top of the loaf with cheddar cheese before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2002
I probably did something wrong (a little too much water or too warm maybe?) but mine flopped. The middle caved in, it was way too crumbly and I was not crazy about the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stuart, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bassett, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2000
My seven year old brother loves to help me cook, and this one was a real winner with him. I think it works best with sharp cheddar rather than just regular cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2005
Wonderful recipe! Used more flour than called for, made a nice fluffy and tender bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAGGIELB

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2001
This is a really delicious bread. It is a nice change of pace from just plain white bread. I use sharp cheese and it adds even more zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Killeen, Texas, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2000
This bread tastes wonderful! My husband pronounced it "the best yet".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheese Herb Bread

See how to make fragrant cheese herb bread.

Apple & Cheddar Cheese Soufflés

A feather-light soufflé with caramelized apples and sharp Cheddar.

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States