Cheddar Cheese Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
I was surprisingly disappointed with this bread. I followed the recipe exactly. The texture turned out fine, but the taste was very bland. Even buttering it didn't help. I'm going to try it again, but I think I will increase the cheese and add some roasted garlic or something to season it. Not bad overall, just not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
My family LOVED this bread! It made a nice large loaf, one of the best to come out of my bread machine! Thanks for posting, will be making again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rocky Mount, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tanaquil
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
Very nice taste but the loaf's top fell in my machine. I am unsure it is my bread machine, since this is the second loaf that has fallen in my new machine. Very tender, probably not good for sandwiches and hard to slice, but great with lots of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanaquil

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
My family really liked this bread. I only used 2 tsp of yeast and the bread still rose to high and cause the loaf to fall, but the taste and texture where very good. Will definitly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
I didn't have dry milk powder so I substituted the water with milk. The bread turned out perfect. It could have been cheesier. I used shredded sharp cheddar cheese. Maybe I will try it next time with small cubes of cheese. Very good and very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren Kunkle Dunbar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fenton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
This is absolutely amazing bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Kisco, New York, USA
Living In: Winter Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2007
Wow! This was yummy. No bread machine here, so I used my KitchenAid mixer, proofed the yeast with the sugar and then mixed in the rest. I forgot to add the butter and used 2 T of buttermilk powder in place of the powdered milk, which I didn't have. I also added about a tsp. of dried minced garlic. Rolled it into a rectangle after rising, sprinkled with cheese, rolled up jellyroll style and curled it into a spiral in a 9" cake pan. Brushed with olive oil after it rose and baked till done. Big hit with the family - it came out tasting almost like a croissant and was light and flaky and moist. I plan on trying this again but with bittersweet chocolate instead of the cheese a'la French chocolate bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
This was pretty good, but I did make a few minor changes. For one thing, I had no milk powder on hand. So, I replaced the warm water with milk for added flavor. I also added 2 tablespoons of garlic powder for some extra flavor. The dough was not coming together at all, so I had to add quite a bit more milk to get it to work. It did make too much bread for my machine, so it rose over the top, then caved in in the middle, since it had no where to go. I would recommend maybe using the dough cycle only, then finishing the bake in the oven. It had a nice taste to it, and I may experiment with it again. It went great with a hearty bowl of chili!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caliboo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2007
Very good bread. I used sharp cheddar and it had just enough cheese flavour without being overpowering. I have another loaf in the breadmaker now for lunches tomorrow. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2007
WOW! What a hearty loaf! It wasn't pretty, I'll admit, but it tasted amazing. A thick slice warmed up for about 30 seconds in the microwave makes for a terrific breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robs

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheese Herb Bread

See how to make fragrant cheese herb bread.

Apple & Cheddar Cheese Soufflés

A feather-light soufflé with caramelized apples and sharp Cheddar.

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States