Cheddar Cheese Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
This bread is wonderful! My family ate 1/2 the loaf within 5 minutes of it coming out of the oven. Very moist. I used an entire block of sharp cheddar cheese (about 2 1/2 cups). I didn't have enough white flour so I used 1/3 wheat flour. I don't have a bread machine, so I was doing this the old fashioned way. It didn't rise until I warmed the oven up a little and then it rose over the top of the loaf pan. I cooked it at 350 degrees in a solar oven (GSO) for about 45 minutes. Next time I will let it go for about an hour, but I am still experimenting with bread in the solar oven. Will definitely repeat!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
have to add extra cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
This is a great recipe, my family just loves it turned out really nice. So easy to make. Thank-you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
fantastic! My family loved this bread! It was wonderful! It rose ALOT in the oven so you know, lol, it scared me when i opened the oven door! It was wonderful popped in the microwave for 10 seconds with some butter! Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEANNIE3WISHZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ayer, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
This is pretty good bread. I (as many others) did not have powdered milk. So, I replaced the water with warmed milk and left out the powdered stuff. I also used 2 cups of sharp cheddar. YUM! I didn't bake in the bread machine. I used the dough cycle, formed into a loaf, let rise about another 40 minutes or so, then baked at 350 for about 30 minutes and brushed with some melted butter. It was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BroncosFan
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BevB
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
Really easy to make and delicious. I used the bread maker on the dough cycle and then transferred the dough to a loaf pan and let it rise for 15 minutes and then baked it in a moderate oven for 25 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BevB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alberton, Gauteng, South Africa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2008
Tasty, soft, moist.... this recipe is a real winner! I followed the first reviewers advice and used 2 tsp measured yeast instead of the 2 1/4 that would normally equal one packet. I also used 2 cups shredded sharp cheddar cheese instead of 1 1/2 (by accident, the cheese poured too fast!). What turned out was some of the most wonderful bread I've ever baked, in a bread machine or by hand. This just might turn out to be my favorite pregnancy craving, even over my husbands chocolate chip cookies (don't tell him that!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
This bread was good. I used the bread machine to make the dough, added maybe 1/4 c grated Asiago in addition to the extra sharp cheddar and sprinkled cheddar on top of the loaf before baking. Loaf rose very quickly so only let rise about 30 min. Baked at 350 for about 25 min and had to cover with foil halfway thru since it was getting too dark on top. Good consistency and taste for sandwiches - I might try to make sandwich/burger rolls next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2008
wonderful for me and my bread machine...didn't have the milk powder so omitted it...otherwise...great recipe for me...update made it again and used the italiano blend from Kraft...and was NOT disappointed nice texture...but again i did not have milk powder but it was very good and cheesy and lite...thanks again for the recipe!...update again...i used the recipe to make buns and they turned out so nice and will make a great ham and cheese bunwich...it is a great recipe and i did it again tonite...used marble cheese and demera sugar...coz that is what i had but it is a good recipe to use forsure
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
This is really tasty! The only thing is that you can't really taste the cheddar. Maybe next time I'll use extra sharp white cheddar. But this was my first recipe to use a bread maker with and it turned out really well! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by menasheep

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evening Shade, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheese Herb Bread

See how to make fragrant cheese herb bread.

Apple & Cheddar Cheese Soufflés

A feather-light soufflé with caramelized apples and sharp Cheddar.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States