Cheddar Casserole Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
This was actually tastier than I'd anticipated. I did replace the mayo with ranch dressing, however. I chose to bake this the same way I bake cornbread. I preheated my cast-iron skillet in the oven, then when I had the batter ready, I removed the skillet, added a little shortening, swirled it around and up the sides, then spooned in my batter. That method gives a nice crust, and roasted the Cheddar cheese a bit which was extra nice. I did use part whole-wheat flour and skim milk, also. Thanks for the recipe, I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
Ugghh, another recipe claiming to be something in the title that it is not. When I read the ingredients I said to myself this is not bread it is A BISCUIT. And, I found out it was a GIANT BISCUIT shaped into the shape of a loaf of bread. I did not add the onions but that would have no affect on the texture of the recipe. If I would have brushed this thing with garlic butter it would have been a giant cheddar bay biscuit. Although, I like biscuits, when I am trying to make bread, I expect bread! Also, a lot more cheese than I would put in my cheese drop biscuits, which this loaf tasted exactly like. I wish I would have not wasted a whole block of cheese. Only two slices got eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by bellepepper
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
WOW! This turned out great!! I was skeptical thinking the amount of cheese was excessive, but it wasn’t. This looked absolutely gorgeous coming out of the oven. I made it in a loaf pan, instead of a cake pan, and it rose beautifully into a nice high, well-rounded loaf. The only thing I’d change next time would be to increase the salt just a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by christina28792
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
It took about 35 minutes for this to bake. I had to cover with foil during the 5 minutes so that it wouldn't get too brown. I loved the green onions in this! It was even better reheated the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christina28792

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pembroke Pines, Florida, USA
Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
I was a little worried that 2 cups of Cheddar cheese was a lot for this one size bread, but it wasn’t. I always use fresh buttermilk when milk is called for in a recipe. I wasn’t worried about the addition of mayonnaise because I know it adds moistness to the bread. I added minced green onions. The batter was wet, slightly sticky and very thick, but came together well. I used a 9x13 pan instead of a round pan because I really wanted a loaf shape. The bread baked up beautifully in 35 minutes producing a light golden color and releasing a cheese-y aroma! The smell of the bread was amazing but tasted even better! It was moist, flavorful and fresh tasting. The cheese turned out to be the perfect amount and I loved all the fresh green onions throughout the bread! This bread kind of reminds me of a cheddar bay biscuit. It has a nice golden cheesy crust with specks of green onions which made for a pretty bread especially when sliced (See my picture in the photo gallery). The crust is slightly crisp with cheddar cheese baked right on top. The inside is soft and flavored. This bread was easy to make, cheesy and wonderful. I wouldn’t change a thing about this recipe except maybe increase the salt just a tad bit to a total of ½ tsp. I served this bread with, “Cheesy Chicken Broccoli Casserole,” from my personal recipe. These two matched up perfectly for tonight's meal. Thou I am sure this cheesy bread would pair well with any casserole, soup, chowder, stew or chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Photo by Trisha
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
I saw a picture of this in the morning and thought it would go good with some chili. And it did. I used seasoned taco cheese and threw a small can of chiles in it. It's a very dense bread. I might use some chili powder in it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
This was okay. It was pretty bland. I'll make it again, but add some garlic salt to it. I also agree with other reviewers that it was more like a biscuit than bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
Forgive me Marillyn, I like to make thing as written so I can make a proper review. However, i saw the reviews with some saying it was dry. I ended up adding a little over 1/4 cup of oil to the wet ingredients (true biscuit fashion would have butter/margarine cut into the flour mix) and added some garlic salt. It was FANTASTIC and moist! Thanks for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
This was pretty good. It was a little dry, but that may have been due to the long cooking time needed to get the middle done. I think it would be really good baked in a muffin tin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tomatosoup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Got to say it would be better as biscuts....like the flavor but its a little dense and not really bread and the middle took forever to cook
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JennainWashington

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spanaway, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States