Cheddar Casserole Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by christina28792
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
It took about 35 minutes for this to bake. I had to cover with foil during the 5 minutes so that it wouldn't get too brown. I loved the green onions in this! It was even better reheated the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christina28792

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pembroke Pines, Florida, USA
Photo by Trisha
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
I saw a picture of this in the morning and thought it would go good with some chili. And it did. I used seasoned taco cheese and threw a small can of chiles in it. It's a very dense bread. I might use some chili powder in it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
This bread was very easy to make. It had more of a biscuit consistency than I was expecting but overall it was very good. I think that green onions add something special. My husband and I loved it and will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
This was actually tastier than I'd anticipated. I did replace the mayo with ranch dressing, however. I chose to bake this the same way I bake cornbread. I preheated my cast-iron skillet in the oven, then when I had the batter ready, I removed the skillet, added a little shortening, swirled it around and up the sides, then spooned in my batter. That method gives a nice crust, and roasted the Cheddar cheese a bit which was extra nice. I did use part whole-wheat flour and skim milk, also. Thanks for the recipe, I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
This was pretty good. It was a little dry, but that may have been due to the long cooking time needed to get the middle done. I think it would be really good baked in a muffin tin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tomatosoup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bellepepper
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
WOW! This turned out great!! I was skeptical thinking the amount of cheese was excessive, but it wasn’t. This looked absolutely gorgeous coming out of the oven. I made it in a loaf pan, instead of a cake pan, and it rose beautifully into a nice high, well-rounded loaf. The only thing I’d change next time would be to increase the salt just a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
Flavor was good.. I followed recipe exactly.. but after rec. cook time mine was not done on bottom. after 10 more minutes center was still kind of wet and dense.. used clear glass pie plate, middle rack- don't know.. the flavor was good.. this dough was just like biscuit dough and could be rolled or dropped.. like I said though, the flavor was great, hence the 4 stars...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wiser1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
Ugghh, another recipe claiming to be something in the title that it is not. When I read the ingredients I said to myself this is not bread it is A BISCUIT. And, I found out it was a GIANT BISCUIT shaped into the shape of a loaf of bread. I did not add the onions but that would have no affect on the texture of the recipe. If I would have brushed this thing with garlic butter it would have been a giant cheddar bay biscuit. Although, I like biscuits, when I am trying to make bread, I expect bread! Also, a lot more cheese than I would put in my cheese drop biscuits, which this loaf tasted exactly like. I wish I would have not wasted a whole block of cheese. Only two slices got eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
Sorry to say this was not very good. It def needs some seasoning. It had no flavor other than cheese. I used sharp cheddar and I normally do not salt my food. Even my 12 year old human garbage disposal would not eat it! I will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom of 3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
I was expecting a bread-like feel to this, but to me it was more like a biscuit. I would have liked it as a bread, but I actually like it better, since I love biscuits! Maybe that's because I baked it in a loaf pan? Don't know, and don't care, will make again. Would be great with soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christiana23

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ithaca, New York, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States