Cheddar Casserole Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
The dough was really thick for a casserole bread. As a result, even though I baked it much longer thanthe suggested time, the centre was doughy, while the outside was done. The parts that were cooked were delicious, so I may try this again and add more liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Got to say it would be better as biscuts....like the flavor but its a little dense and not really bread and the middle took forever to cook
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JennainWashington

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spanaway, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
I was a little worried that 2 cups of Cheddar cheese was a lot for this one size bread, but it wasn’t. I always use fresh buttermilk when milk is called for in a recipe. I wasn’t worried about the addition of mayonnaise because I know it adds moistness to the bread. I added minced green onions. The batter was wet, slightly sticky and very thick, but came together well. I used a 9x13 pan instead of a round pan because I really wanted a loaf shape. The bread baked up beautifully in 35 minutes producing a light golden color and releasing a cheese-y aroma! The smell of the bread was amazing but tasted even better! It was moist, flavorful and fresh tasting. The cheese turned out to be the perfect amount and I loved all the fresh green onions throughout the bread! This bread kind of reminds me of a cheddar bay biscuit. It has a nice golden cheesy crust with specks of green onions which made for a pretty bread especially when sliced (See my picture in the photo gallery). The crust is slightly crisp with cheddar cheese baked right on top. The inside is soft and flavored. This bread was easy to make, cheesy and wonderful. I wouldn’t change a thing about this recipe except maybe increase the salt just a tad bit to a total of ½ tsp. I served this bread with, “Cheesy Chicken Broccoli Casserole,” from my personal recipe. These two matched up perfectly for tonight's meal. Thou I am sure this cheesy bread would pair well with any casserole, soup, chowder, stew or chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
Forgive me Marillyn, I like to make thing as written so I can make a proper review. However, i saw the reviews with some saying it was dry. I ended up adding a little over 1/4 cup of oil to the wet ingredients (true biscuit fashion would have butter/margarine cut into the flour mix) and added some garlic salt. It was FANTASTIC and moist! Thanks for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
This was okay. It was pretty bland. I'll make it again, but add some garlic salt to it. I also agree with other reviewers that it was more like a biscuit than bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
I made this according to the recipe with no changes. The bread is very dense and really not much flavor. We were disappointed because it smelled wonderful while baking, but lacked in taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amoore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
This was o.k. If you're looking for bread, heads up...this is definitely more like a biscuit, which I was expecting and wanting. It was just missing something for us flavor wise..couldn't pinpoint what.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fond Du Lac, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
I was expecting a bread-like feel to this, but to me it was more like a biscuit. I would have liked it as a bread, but I actually like it better, since I love biscuits! Maybe that's because I baked it in a loaf pan? Don't know, and don't care, will make again. Would be great with soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christiana23

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ithaca, New York, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
Sorry to say this was not very good. It def needs some seasoning. It had no flavor other than cheese. I used sharp cheddar and I normally do not salt my food. Even my 12 year old human garbage disposal would not eat it! I will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aubrey Vickers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
Ugghh, another recipe claiming to be something in the title that it is not. When I read the ingredients I said to myself this is not bread it is A BISCUIT. And, I found out it was a GIANT BISCUIT shaped into the shape of a loaf of bread. I did not add the onions but that would have no affect on the texture of the recipe. If I would have brushed this thing with garlic butter it would have been a giant cheddar bay biscuit. Although, I like biscuits, when I am trying to make bread, I expect bread! Also, a lot more cheese than I would put in my cheese drop biscuits, which this loaf tasted exactly like. I wish I would have not wasted a whole block of cheese. Only two slices got eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States