Cheddar Buttermilk Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
These were excellent. Even my husband, who doesn't usually like biscuits said they were great and asked me to make them again. Here's what I did: I put the dry ingredients in my food processor and pulsed just until combined. Then I added the butter, nice and cold, and cut into slices. I pulsed just a few times until crumbly. You don't want to over-mix, otherwise your biscuits will not come out flaky. Then I added the buttermilk and cheese and just pulsed until the dough came together, but only slightly. I dumped out onto my countertop, and only kneaded like once or twice, just to bring it all together. I formed it into a circle, and then used a glass to cut out the biscuits. While they were baking, I put 1/4 cup butter in the microwave to melt. I added 1/2 tsp of garlic powder, 1/8 tsp of garlic salt and 1/2 tsp of parsley flakes to the melted butter. Brush on biscuits when they are hot. Yumm-O
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
I've been meaning to make some biscuits from scratch and I came across this recipe. I omitted the cayenne, and they turned out wonderfully. I added a little more cheddar then what was written, and I think I'll actually add more next time as well. Thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reina Lairs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
I was short on time so I melted the butter and folded it with the buttermilk into the dry ingredients. I did use a wisk through the dry ingredients as sort of a sifter, then added the cheese before adding in the wet. I dropped them into greased biscuit cups. Turned out great. Fluffy, rich and oh, so good. Nom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
These came out pretty good. The only thing I added was a bit of garlic powder. I was trying to find a cheddar biscuit recipe that was actually from "scratch", i.e. no baking mix, and was glad to find this one. I did have to knead in some extra flour because the mixture was a bit gooey. Otherwise everything else worked out perfect. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SouperWoman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
These biscuits are sooo good! I have been experimenting with biscuit recipes a LOT this past month. I have tried at least 20 different biscuit recipes and most of them looked great but did not have much flavor. But, these were really good. I mainly followed the recipe but added 1tsp of garlic powder and an extra 1/4 sharp cheddar cheese. After cutting the (salted)butter in with my fingers, so that there were dime size slivers of butter, I put in the freezer and let it rest about 7-8 minutes. I kneaded just like the recipe suggested. Do not use a insulated pan, it will not get hot fast enough to bake biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rosie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Key, Florida, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DecaturFifi
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
This recipe is a winner! I have tried tons of "scratch" recipes for buttermilk biscuits, but this one is THE BEST! I used my food processor to mix the dry ingredients, then the ice cold butter pieces. I then turned the ingredients out into a bowl, tossed in the cheddar and then added the buttermilk. I baked them in a well buttered iron skillet, and golly, the bottoms turned out so beautifully, with a golden, crispness. The biscuit itself was light, flakey and flavorful. My family couldn't get enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DecaturFifi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Decatur, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
My husband is a self-proclaimed "picky buttermilk biscuit eater" and claimed these to be the best he ever has eaten! The kids absolutely loved them,too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
Super light and fluffy. My family loved them. I did add a bit more buttermilk (2 TBS).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
These biscuits are fantastic! This will be the recipe I use from now on. Thank you! I substituted parmesan cheese for the cheddar and added 2 tsp dried parsley and 1 tsp dried thyme. I also added a dot of butter on top each biscuit before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
I was looking for a moist and flaky recipe. This one is great! The biscuits are very tasty and light. I omitted the cayenne pepper and added a little extra buttermilk while I was mixing (about a tablespoon). I will definitely be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States