Cheddar Buttermilk Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
These came out pretty good. The only thing I added was a bit of garlic powder. I was trying to find a cheddar biscuit recipe that was actually from "scratch", i.e. no baking mix, and was glad to find this one. I did have to knead in some extra flour because the mixture was a bit gooey. Otherwise everything else worked out perfect. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SouperWoman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
Like the other reviewer, I was looking for a "scratch" cheese biscuit and this fit the bill. For the sake of my kids, I only added the slightest pinch of cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Falls Church, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2007
Well these were so tasty! I used 1 cup ww flour and 1 cup white. I halved the sugar. I'll be making a bunch more to keep in the freezer. Loved this! Thanks, Kimberely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VeggieBalls

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Living In: Grass Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
Good stuff! We had buttermilk on-hand that I was trying to use up, and this was a great recipe! As others suggested, I cut the sugar to 1T and used whole wheat for half of the flour. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by edandsuz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by daveycooks
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
Awesome and cheesey. I added scallions to mine and they came out great. The biscuits rose so high, it was a good thing I had them in the middle of the oven. Definately, I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daveycooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wayne, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hawthorne, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
These were great and smelled fabulous! I made a big batch and froze them for future eating. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Basset Hound Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
Terrific - light and flaky. Didn't have cayenne pepper so I put a little garlic in. Kids loved them! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
These biscuits were delicious. The only thing I changed was I used reduced fat buttermilk. I also used my food processor to combine ingredients which I found easier to blend the butter with dry ingredients. Then added the cheese and buttermilk and pulsed one or two times. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOVE2COOK

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ventura, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
I was looking for a moist and flaky recipe. This one is great! The biscuits are very tasty and light. I omitted the cayenne pepper and added a little extra buttermilk while I was mixing (about a tablespoon). I will definitely be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
These are good. I only used a pinch of cayenne. (personal preference). Not particularly flakey, but I might of cooked them a bit too long. Will make them again, for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States