Cheddar Buttermilk Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
I was looking for a simple buttermilk biscuit recipe when I came across this one. It had the most positive reviews so I decided to try it. Since I only wanted plain buttermilk biscuits I omitted the cheese and cayenne. They came out perfect. My most successful attempt at making light, buttery biscuits! I mixed all of my ingredients in the food processor, first blendi9ng the dry ingredients, then cutting in the butter, then adding the buttermilk until a soft dough formed. Just perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
I've never made biscuits before but these were so easy to make. They came out delicious and flaky. I followed other reviewers suggestions and used about 1 tablespoon of sugar and about 1 cup of buttermilk because i felt that the dough was not sticking together. I also added 3 teaspoons of italian seasoning instead of the cayenne pepper and baked at 400 degrees for 20 mins for a crispier biscuit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
WOW - these were excellent! I omitted the cheese and cayenne because I was hoping to find a good basic recipe to serve with butter and honey and this is it! I can imagine how wonderful they will be with cheese, hame, herbs, etc. Thanks for the great recipe. I'll be using it again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
I made them tonight and they were a big hit with my family! I just used a pinch of the cayenne, but barely tasted it, so maybe I'll use a bit more next time. I also added 1/2 tsp. garlic powder and 1/2 tsp. dried parsley. I also used 1 cup of cheese. Very good! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
These biscuits are so flaky and savory, my family LOVED them!! I cut up the butter and froze it, pulsed the dry ing. in the food processor then added the frozen butter pieces (makes them extra flakey)and pulsed only twice then added the buttermilk and cheese(we used 1/2 cup grated mozarella and 1/4 cup grated hard goats cheese) and rosemary(instead of c. pepper). and pulsed only 3 short times. dumped it all on a floured counter needed it only enough to shape it into a 1 inch thick circle, floured a cup and cut out the biscuits. Baked as directed and served warm with sunny side up eggs. My husband is a vegetarian, but, next time I am going to add chopped up crispy bacon! Yum! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NICURN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Torrance, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
These were wonderful. I just need to remember next time to roll the dough out much thicker. Mine were very thin biscuits. That was my fault though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bttrflybabydoll

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
These biscuits had a great taste and nice texture, but did not rise like I had hoped. Definitely not a "light and airy" type of biscuit. These reminded me more of a scone than a biscuit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
I added some garlic powder and didn't use as much c. pepper and put 1/2 again as much cheese. Did everything in the blender as one reviewer suggested and then just kneaded a couple times grabbed a chunk and put in muffin tin with butter on top. These are a HUGE hit! Thanks for the awesome recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Loveland, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
Kind sweet yet tasty and fluffy. Followed the review using the food processor to mix ingredients and it was the easiest way to make biscuits that I have ever tried!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dae14
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
My boyfriend and I LOVED these. The were flaky, fluffy and very flavorful. I'm not very experienced with cutting butter into flour mixtures (I live in a tiny apartment and don't even own a food processor pastry cutter), but I got these to turn out by grating frozen butter and then adding it to the flour mixture. I have made these several times, sometimes with butter and sometimes with margarine, and they have turned out lovely either way. I find the cayenne taste to be very prominent (and I like that), but I have made them without the cayenne when baking for family members that don't like things spicy. Thanks for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dae14
Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States