Cheddar Buttermilk Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
These were amazing! I made the recipe as is, except I substituted 4 tsp of dried oregano in place of the cayenne and doubled the cheddar. The dough was a bit crumbly and a little hard to work with ( - could maybe have used a bit more buttermilk -), but the biscuits turned out fabulous. The only thing I would do differently next time is maybe put a pat of butter on top of each biscuit before baking to make them a little less crispy on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
very easy recipe. I followed another reviewers advise and made the whole thing in my food processer, just pulsing until the butter was in small pieces. I pulses several more times once the buttermilk was added and then dumped it all on the counter for a quick pat. Very easy even for a non-biscuit maker. The family loved these with beef stew!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fourpiesmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
Pretty good but not worthy of five stars, unfortunately. I had high hopes for this recipe. The cayenne is barely noticeable and these did not rise very much at all. Followed the recipe completely. The cheese was a good amount, I liked that part. And they were moist. Just didn't rise very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hardrockgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yorba Linda, California, USA
Living In: Mechanicsville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
OMG....that's all that need be said. These will be made again and often, with a little extra cheese and double the cayenne pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
Very good! I used parchment paper to line the baking sheet. I brushed the tops with and egg wash before backing then brushed with butter when I took them out of the oven. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
easy and tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jaycie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
Great recipe - super simple, easy to modify and really really yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BreannaDrew

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oakland, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
this was delicious. i didnt have buttermilk, so i just used regular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
I made this exactly as directed (except for more cayenne and some black pepper) and they were perfect! Thank you so much for this. I made them with sausage gravy and it was a divine breakfast! We will be making them for out of town guests too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
I hate using superlatives, but these truly were the best biscuits I've ever made. I went for about 1/8 tsp of cayenne instead (my wife can't tolerate spicy foods) and I also rolled to about 3/4 inch thickness to make wider, shorter biscuits. Next time, I might add a little more cheese than what it calls for to give the cheddar a greater presence. Needless to say, this recipe will become a staple in my kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States