Cheddar Buttermilk Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by DecaturFifi
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
This recipe is a winner! I have tried tons of "scratch" recipes for buttermilk biscuits, but this one is THE BEST! I used my food processor to mix the dry ingredients, then the ice cold butter pieces. I then turned the ingredients out into a bowl, tossed in the cheddar and then added the buttermilk. I baked them in a well buttered iron skillet, and golly, the bottoms turned out so beautifully, with a golden, crispness. The biscuit itself was light, flakey and flavorful. My family couldn't get enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DecaturFifi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Decatur, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
Kick up the buttermilk + sub extra cheddar for some of the butter to bump up moisture & flavor. I also added a liberal 1/2 tsp. garlic powder, and a dash of black pepper. Brush on melted butter for extra awesomeness if you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
I just made these up the other day, and my whole family loved them. Easy to make, and better than using a mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
These were sooooo delicious! I did sift the 2 cups of flour, used reduced-fat sharp cheddar, omitted the cayenne and used 1 tsp. of garlic powder. After baking I brushed the tops with melted butter and an additional sprinkling of garlic and salt to the top. Light, fluffy-my first success at homemade biscuits. TO DIE FOR!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
These were delicious. They rose nice and tall and were a nice combo of fluffy and flakey. used an old cheddar and added more then called for. used more buttermilk then called for as well. omitted the cayenne, kids won't eat anything spicy. very easy to customize. some crumbled crispy bacon might be nice. maybe some green onions and cracked black pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
Made these to go with dinner tonight...my family loved them! I added garlic granules, sea salt & basil. I also reduced the sugar to 2 tsp. I made as drop biscuits. Very nice accompaniment to dinner. Will certainly make again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Neosho, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
These are good, but they are in desperate need of salt. I followed the recipe to the letter, and they were just a bit bland. I would decrease the sugar by a quarter to half and add salt. Or maybe with the salt, the sugar amount would be okay. As written, they are too sweet and a bit bland. Can't really taste the red pepper, either. I would probably add more of that and add some onion salt or garlic salt. Quick and easy and a good foundation recipe, but it needs some tweaks to be a 5 star recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
Wow! These are awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elk River, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Big Lake, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
These are delicious! I've made them with and without the cheddar and cayenne and they always turn out perfectly! Great with jam, an egg and turkey bacon for a breakfast sandwhich on the go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States