Cheddar Buttermilk Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
These were really great; my cousin said they were better than Popeye's biscuits! I didn't have cheddar or cayenne pepper so I simply made them plain, and they still turned out soft and flaky. I used only one tablespoon of sugar, and had to add about 1/3 cup extra buttermilk, and then some extra flour. I can't wait to try these with cheddar :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Very good recipe. I substituted white whole wheat flour and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunfluer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
I rarely, if ever, do this but I have been making biscuits from scratch for years and I have to say that even with the additon of fresh garlic and 1 cup of cheese it still came out very bland, non-flavorful. I will be losing this recipe for sure. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Passionate_About_Chocolate

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
My husband said these were the best biscuits he'd ever had. I have to agree. I left out the cayenne due to my small kids, but still delicious. I would like to try adding some garlic next time. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Almonte, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Cut the recipe back to just 2 servings, but made exactly as written, thought they were great. Couldn't believe hw much flavor such a tiny bit of cayenne pepper give them. I was probably a littl e heavy on the cheddar cheese, but I love cheese!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Claridge, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ooltewah, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Aleta
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Tasty and flaky. A big hit with the family. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
They are so wholesome and delicious! I use them for my breakfast sandwich in the morning with scrambled eggs and whatever breakfast meat I have available.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Isla HoMeMakR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Westchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
Excellent. I followed the recipe but added about 1-1.5 cups of finely shredded cheese (mixture of cheddar and gruyere), 1/2tsp garlic powder, a couple tablespoons of finely chopped fresh chives, tablespoon of finely chopped Fesh sage. I only put in a dash of cayenne, and a few grinds from the peppermill. Excellent. I actually used this recipe for my sausage & gravy biscuit casserole and it was unbelievably good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
These are delicious! I've tried them adding 3 or 4 minced scalllions to the batter and also with a tablespoon of dill onion spice mix and both variations were also delicious. Definitely a new family favorite! Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Kids and I liked this recipe. The only thing I changed was I added 1 pound crumbled bacon to the batch then put 1 TB orange juice in the 3/4 measuring cup then filled with the buttermilk. YUM YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States