Cheddar Broccoli Chicken and Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 18, 2008
I had to do my a bit different since I didn't have any broccoli cheese soup, or any other cream soup that I could use. I first peeled and cut the potatoes and put them on to cook. Then I made my own THIN cream/white sauce to which I added a chicken boullion cube, fresh ground pepper, curry powder and about 1/3 cup shredded cheddar cheese. It was almost as easy as opening a can of soup. I cubed my leftover chicken breasts. I also cut the broccoli up into flowerettes, put them in a microwave safe dish and nuked them in the microwave for 2 minutes until crisp tender. I then added this and the cubed chicken to the sauce and heated it through. I spooned this over the mashed potatoes. Total cook time, 20-25 min. It turned out AWESOME!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SONGDANCING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Blanc, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
Loved this recipe. My only complaint is the chicken didn't soak up enough of the flavor but it was still flavorful enough to get a 5. I didn't use mashed potatoes I used rice instead and it went very well together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
This recipe is so yummy! I couldn't find broccoli cheese soup, so I bought one can of cream of broccoli, and one can of cheese soup and mixed them together. That actually worked well because you can customize how much of the cheese you want. I served this recipe over four-cheese mashed potatoes (a mix). My family loved it, including my two-year-old!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
I changed directions - might be it's own new recipe. I about doubled everything and added a can of cream of chicken soup to the 2 cans of broccoli cheese soup. I mixed the 3 soups with 1 -2 c. broccoli and 3/4 c. milk and about 2 cups of cooked diced chicken. I pour the mix into a lightly greased 9x13 pyrex dish, then spread dollops of about 7 or 8 cups mashed potatoes (mine were left-over garlic mashed potatoes I had to use up). Then I sprinkled a little garlic salt and lots of shredded cheese and some bread crumbs on top, baked covered (tented the foil) at 350 for about 1 hour, then uncovered for about 15 minutes. It's basically a variation of shepherd's pie - and since I had the cubed chicken left over from a rotisserie chicken and all the taters, it was a good use of left-overs. My kids (ages 8, 6, 3 and 1) all loved it, which surprised me. It was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
Love this stuff! It is so good and so easy. We like to cut our chicken into chunks and serve it with the broccoli-cheese over the mashed potatoes like gravy. Leftovers are also good with brown rice if you run out potatoes. This has quickly become one of my favorite meals and undoubtedly will be on the rotation for a long, long time to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medical Lake, Washington, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
This was so easy- made it on a whim and it only took a few minutes. Very cheap and very filling... which is exactly what this Air Force dorm kid needs! I did add another 1/3 cup of milk, because it looked a little thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pennsauken, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
This recipe was very pleasing. When you make it, it doesn't really look like it's enough to feed your family, but with the mashed potatoes, those really fill you up and the amount is perfect! I too added a bit more milk to make a little more sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
My veggie-phobic boyfriend gobbled it up, even with fresh broccoli, carrots, and low fat broccoli cheese soup! I used rice instead of potatoes, so it comes out tasting a lot like rice-a-roni but with fresh ingredients, and a lot healthier. Oh, I cooked the rice in chicken broth to add extra flavor, and mixed about half a cup of shredded cheese in to the chicken mixture before serving. EDIT: Made it again with potatoes but stirred them into the mixture, ends up like a thick potato cheese soup, give it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
This was fantastic, probably one of my favorite casserole type meals. I did cook it a bit differently as I cooked the chicken (cut into cubes) and broccoli on the stove and then transferred everything into a cassarole dish and baked at 400 degrees for about 25 minutes. I used 2 cans of soup because I made a bit more than the recipe called for. I also topped with french fried onions to add extra flavor. It was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
Great dinner for those nights that I don't feel like cooking or when I get home late. I didn't have the broccoli soup so I put in a can of Cream of Chicken Soup. I also had some carrots that needed to be used so I threw them in too (2 carrot sticks). Served it over rice for a more healthy alternative. YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken and Broccoli Alfredo

This dish is delicious, and so easy with Campbell's® Cream of Mushroom Soup.

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Chicken Stock

Chicken broth and stock are heavy hitters for your holiday feast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States