Cheddar Broccoli Chicken and Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 18, 2008
I had to do my a bit different since I didn't have any broccoli cheese soup, or any other cream soup that I could use. I first peeled and cut the potatoes and put them on to cook. Then I made my own THIN cream/white sauce to which I added a chicken boullion cube, fresh ground pepper, curry powder and about 1/3 cup shredded cheddar cheese. It was almost as easy as opening a can of soup. I cubed my leftover chicken breasts. I also cut the broccoli up into flowerettes, put them in a microwave safe dish and nuked them in the microwave for 2 minutes until crisp tender. I then added this and the cubed chicken to the sauce and heated it through. I spooned this over the mashed potatoes. Total cook time, 20-25 min. It turned out AWESOME!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SONGDANCING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Blanc, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
This was very good, but it did need more flavor. I used one can of cream of broccoli soup and one can of cheddar cheese soup. I doubled the amount of milk. Next time (and there will definitely be a next time!!), I will add some shredded cheddar to the sauce and some salt. Overall, delicous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
I didn't follow the recipe exactly but what I did do was instead of the cheddar and broccoli soup I used fresh broccoli 32oz of Velveeta with 1 1/3 cup milk fired the chicken is some olive oil...not sure how much maybe 2 tbs and instead of potatoes I used egg noodles my whole family loved it, very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gardiner, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jetts83
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
Very delicious dish! My family just loved it! I did do a few steps differently. I cut the chicken in strips, dredged them in flour, and sauteed them in a skillet. Then in a separate sauce pan, I mixed: broccoli cheddar soup, 1 cup of cheddar cheese, 1/2 cup of milk, a few slices of coby cheese, and 1 cup of frozen chopped broccoli. I let that cook until everything melted together and was slightly bubbly. After the chicken was done (and so was the cheese sauce) I poured the sauce in with the chicken. Set the stove to low heat and covered it. Cooked it for 30. Came out excellent! We did try it with some sour cream mash potatoes; just melts in your mouth! I will for sure make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
My veggie-phobic boyfriend gobbled it up, even with fresh broccoli, carrots, and low fat broccoli cheese soup! I used rice instead of potatoes, so it comes out tasting a lot like rice-a-roni but with fresh ingredients, and a lot healthier. Oh, I cooked the rice in chicken broth to add extra flavor, and mixed about half a cup of shredded cheese in to the chicken mixture before serving. EDIT: Made it again with potatoes but stirred them into the mixture, ends up like a thick potato cheese soup, give it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
This is really turn so good! So creamy and yummy! I'm not follow every single ingredients.. Ok, so here we go: For chicken itself, I cut into bit size, I saw reviews that people can't taste the chicken breast, that is because chicken breast has solid flesh, so white, and kinda hard.. If you put thighs, it's probably fine, but if breast, cut it up to bite size, after you browned them, drain all the oil with paper towel/plates, and give little dash of salt! Set aside.. After I browned them, I saute 1 clove of garlic, my husband and I love garlic, so it's not problem to put garlic a lil bit, it smells good and taste of garlic make food more tasty! For broccoli, since I just have 1 cup of broccoli, I mix it with 1 up of spinach, chopped it roughly! And it taste unique and wonderful.. For broccoli soup, I didn't have it, so I change with Chicken Soup, it works! Last not the least, the part of "cover for 5 minutes" put 1 cup of cheddar cheese and wait for 5 minutes, and stir it.. Yummy!! Tasty!! My husband doesn't like veggies AT ALL. but his plate was clean!! with all spinach and broccoli :p Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheSchippers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wenatchee, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
I added carrots too, but it's pretty much mashed potato sloppy jo. Probably a good way to get kids to eat veggies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
I made it exactly the way it reads and it was great. It went over well with the kids and it was so easy to make. I'll make it again this week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by teetraci

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
This recipe was very pleasing. When you make it, it doesn't really look like it's enough to feed your family, but with the mashed potatoes, those really fill you up and the amount is perfect! I too added a bit more milk to make a little more sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
I think this recipe works better with chicken pieces rather than whole breasts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Addison, Illinois, USA
Living In: Urbana, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chicken and Broccoli Alfredo

This dish is delicious, and so easy with Campbell's® Cream of Mushroom Soup.

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Chicken Stock

Chicken broth and stock are heavy hitters for your holiday feast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States