Cheddar Biscuit Cups Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
Very good. I made them as drop biscuits on parchment at 400 degrees for about 18 minutes - I don't like the messy cleanup of muffin tins. (Doubled the recipe, used baking powder substitute w/half the salt)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
Delicious, and surprisingly crispy on the outside. I used mozzarella and parmesan and it still tasted a lot like the Red Lobster biscuits. I added ~1/2 - 1 tsp each dried parsley, oregano, basil & minced garlic, as well as pepper; I think adding them was a must for flavour. I didn't use up all the liquid and the dough was still awfully moist once mixed. I only had regular flour, but added half the salt, which was for the best - the cheese adds saltiness (good thing I didn't use cheddar!!). Overcooked the biscuits (helps explain the crispyness) a bit in aiming for that "golden brown" colour - will probably cook 20-25 minutes next time. Got 7 biscuits from the original proportions. Using non-stick spray, I could pop the biscuits right out after. This is my first time making biscuits, and I'm very pleased with this recipe. It was very easy and a definite success. I used skim milk and light cheese & mayonnaise, so as far as delicious cheesy biscuits go this would have to be one of the lighter options. Will double the recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
I made these twice and although great I found that a pinch of salt would made them even better. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
Used the suggestion of 1 cup self rising/1 cup of wheat flour (with the 1 1/2 tsp baking powder and 1/2 tsp kosher salt each) doubling milk and mayo (may try with sour cream instead of mayo next time), 2 1/4 cups finely shredded cheddar cheese, 1 tsp garlic powder, 1 tsp Italian herbs, 1/4 tsp paprika and 1 tsp pepper, lined with paper cups and topped with more cheddar cheese. In the oven for approx 12 min at 400*F( my oven is extremely hot).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Morristown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
Fast and easy, and a great tip about the self-rising flour. 4 rather than 5 because they're lacking something flavor-wise, but I can't put a finger on what that is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
I didn't have self-rising flour on me, so I substituted with all-purpose and salt and baking soda (didn't have baking powder). Apparently, that doesn't work b/c it was terrible. I'm going to give this recipe another try w/ either baking powder instead of the baking soda, or with self-rising flour. But for any of you out there thinking of using baking soda instead of the baking powder -- DONT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Orangette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cairo, Al-Qahirah, Egypt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
I was looking for an easy recipe to use up Self-Rising Flour and these were great. Though I made a bunch of changes. I added about a tsp Garlic powder and 1/2tsp black pepper. I also subbed Buttermilk for the milk and some cream cheese for the mayo because I needed to use them up. I just made them as drop biscuits and they had a nice crispiness on the outside, but were moist on the inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Orange, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
These were so easy to make and so good!--I would omit the salt if subbing the self-rising for the all-purpose flour. I added some garlic powder to mine and were amazing!---
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
Very yummy biscuits. I didn't have any self-rising flour so I had to use the substitution (using only half the salt it called for as many others said theirs were too salty). I also added a little garlic powder and italian seasoning to give them some extra flavour. These came out perfect after exactly 17 minutes. These are quick and easy and they make a great side to soups. I will be making these often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
My husband forgot to pick up the instant biscuits that we were planning on having with our southern feast this afternoon so I was looking for a quick and easy recipe without a lot of ingredients. I was also looking for biscuits that I didn't have to roll out because our kitchen is small and I don't have enough room to do that while my husband is cooking with me. These were great! I didn't have self rising flour but the substitution worked out fine although I did cut the salt to a 1/4 tsp after reading the reviews. We're going to make these again next weekend. I think I'll add some diced green chili's to give them a southwestern kick since we'll be visiting family in Texas. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie Jaquess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States