Cheddar Beef Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
This was very good, I made several changes to make the meal much easier and quicker to prepare with less dirty dishes. I browned the beef and added some minced onion and garlic. Then I poured in two cups of water and a package of Lipton Fiesta Sides Taco Rice. I brought to a boil and then simmered covered for 7 minutes. I mixed the meat/rice mixture with the refried beans and 1 cup of cheese so that I just had to scoop a 1/2 cup of the mixture into each tortilla instead of doing each ingredient seperately and taking twice as much time. I mixed 2 instead of 1 can of cream of chicken soup with 16oz mild salsa. I poured 1 cup of the sauce on the bottom of each pan and then placed the filled tortillas. Topped with the remaining sauce and sprinkled each pan with 1/2 cup of cheese. These would have been too salsa-y without the 2nd can of soup in my opinion. They were yummy and easy and my hubby said he'd rather eat these then go to our favorite mexican restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
133 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHMANESSA8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
Quick and easy to make. Instead of cooking my rice before hand, when the recipe said to stir in rice, I added uncooked rice and water and let it simmer for 20 minutes so the rice would absorb some of the seasonings. Tasted great! My husband said it's definitely something he wants me to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chris annette beason

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Malvern, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
I'm giving it 4 stars because it was good and easy. It could be jazzed up a little with 3 easy steps: 1. Cook meat with a small onion and a little garlic. 2. Use Lipton package of rice for ease and flavor...either Spanish or Mexican. 3. Double the salsa/soup combo to make it more saucy. I used chicken/mushroom soup. These changes make it 5-star GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
We made this with only one change. Instead of using the salsa mixed with cream of chicken, we used 2 cans of red enchilada sauce. It was really simple to put together and was something everyone could enjoy. Next time I will use more rice and try it with chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CariMel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: College Station, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
This was very good. I made several changes to the recipe only because I didn't have all the same ingredients. I layered instead of rolling and this simplified the preparation and serving. I used one very large pan and spread the entire can of refried beans on the bottom layer of tortillas. Then sprinkled chopped onions, next the meat/rice and finally the cheese. For the sauce, I didn't have salsa so I combined one can of soup with a can of diced tomatoes and about 1/4 cup of taco sauce. Spread over the top layer of tortillas, sprinkled with more chopped onion and finished with shredded cheese. It stayed together well when I cut it to lift onto the plate and was delicious. Just add tortilla chips and guacamole salad for a complete meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBINBRADY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Meridian, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
Great basic recipe. We found it delicious, and my husband - a reserved eater - had 2 servings! I made just a few changes: 1) I added chopped onion to the cooked ground beef. 2) I bought taco flavored rice, stirred in just enough water to dampen it, and just let it soak. I did not cook it before adding it to the beef. 3) For the topping, I added half a small can of enchilada sauce to the soup and salsa. It gives a sweetness to it. 4) I used taco cheese. 5) Smaller shells work much better and are easier to serve and eat, so I used 6 inch shells and spread the extra meat around them, topped with sauce and cheese. 6) For serving, we topped with sour cream, diced tomatoes and green onions. *TIP: To keep your shells rolled up, spread some refried beans as 'glue' when rolling the final edge. They will stay closed every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
My daughter and I made these for the rest of the family, and it was a HUGE success! The only thing we did differently was to cook the hamburger with chopped onions and a chopped clove of garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
This is definitely not a traditional enchilada recipe. I garnished them with sliced black olives after removing them from the oven. Although they looked perfect, the flavors were a little odd. Being able to taste chicken soup totally separate from the salsa was unappealing. The leftovers the next day were amazingly better. Very good the next day. Maybe I will just make these and freeze them for later use--just so the flavors have time to blend together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
Oh my goodness - these were SO good! I have tried a LOT of enchilada recipes, and this is definitely my favorite. I didn't have any cream of chicken soup, so used crm of mushroom instead. Fantastic! Will be making this a LOT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanab, Utah, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
My husband and I loved these. It makes a large batch. I used Lipton MeXican rice instead of white. I also topped them with sour cream and guacamole. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elkhorn, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 305) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States