Cheddar Baked Olives Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Love this recipe, though I prefer to use black olives, and I generally add more butter (til the dough seems right). I usually triple or quadruple the batch, and place the dough-wrapped olives onto large baking sheets and into the freezer for a couple of hours. Then you can put them into freezer bags so you can pull out however many you want, and they're not stuck together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
These are great, made them for a Christmas party. Also, replaced olives with jalopenas...they were a big hit as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
These were very easy to make and really good. I only had sliced olives so I just mixed them in with the dough and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emkat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parchman, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Moorhead, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
I LOVE these. I can see where others might hesitate ("Cheddar baked WHAT?") but they are the perfect warm cheesey and salty. Sometimes I add a little kick with some cayenne, onion powder, garlic powder and/or mustard powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
These turned out pretty good. My mom used to make a version of these and of course I think hers are better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
I love these and they're so easy to make. My tip: don't chill the dough. I find it's so much easier to stretch it around the olive if I warm the dough in my hands slightly. Otherwise it's just too crumbly and appears to need more binder (like butter). With it warm it all comes together. I use small olives so they're just a bite or two each.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
I love olives, but this recipe is not appropriate for cooking. First the mixture was too floury to stick together so I added an additional 2 T of butter which causes them to lose shape while cooking. What a mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
I made this recipe for my husbands retirement party. I took the advice of some and made them the day before with a liberal dash of cayenne. They were very well received and was asked repeatedly for the recipe. Personally, I liked them better hot but know one else seemed to mind them at room temp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elm Mott, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
dough is bland and dry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2007
These are always a hit. My family loves them. I do need to add a bit more butter to the dough. Warm, crusty, and salty. Who doesn't love that!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Otsego, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Baked Omelet Roll

What a great way to feed a hungry breakfast crowd!

Baked Macaroni and Cheese I

How do you make a better mac & cheese bake? Add bacon!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States