Cheddar and Olive Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2006
Not the prettiest appetizer; but if you like olives this is for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2006
These were wonderful. I wanted to make something different for the Super Bowl and came across this recipe. I cut the shreadded cheese to 16 oz (4 c) and added 3 oz. of softened cream cheese. I like another used the food processor and they came out moist enough to make a nice dough around the olives. Also, my husband doesn't like olives so I did some for him with dill pickle chips and he said they were wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
This was a great and really easy recipe to make. I made these and froze them for a party I was having in a couple of weeks. I followed others advice and added a bit of water to make the dough more workable. I used large olives stuffed with garlic and the results were fantastic. I love olives so this was a perfect recipe for me. They were the biggest hit at the party, and the first thing to go. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
Very very good! Added a little cayenne and WOW! Gobbled up quickly by my guests. I'm going to try freezing some for snacks and Christmas party. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNESTWINS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Snellville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
Wow, these were surprisingly good and tasty. I did not think they would turn out as well as they did, but they were the hit of the party. I used queen olives and only got about 30 appetizers out of this recipe. Next time, I will use smaller olives and try jalapeno stuffed ones at that. I will also look for extra sharp cheddar which I think will give them even more of a bite. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2005
I love olives and I love cheese. This is a great appetizer. I think I "stretched" out the use of the cheese as I was able to get more than 45 olives - I used the manzilla olives (the entire 14oz jar). I suppose the recipe may be for larger olives and I didn't have THAT much breading around the olive. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1COOKINGCHICK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2004
This was very well received. I used all stuffed pitted olives and varied between garlic stuffed, sundried tomato and jalepeno. Some thought the jalepeno ones was too hot, but rest were gobbled up. I also substituted cayenne for paprika....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2004
This recipe gets three stars for being *easy, *freezable, and *helping me use up a jar of olives that's been taking up shelf space. Using another reviewer's suggestion, I substituted a pepper jack for cheddar and cut the seasoning to a quarter of recommended. Glad I did as they were plenty SPICY and HOT! Mixed the ingredients with my hand mixer as I don't have a pastry blender and added the flour slowly. It was crumbly as a result, but it quickly formed a dough ball when I squished the crumbly bits together on a sheet of waxed paper. Covering the olive was easiest when the dough was COLD. The balls did come out a bit dry, but I don't know if it was the recipe or my baking them too long. I was expecting them to puff and brown - of which they did neither.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2004
These are addictive! My guests ate all of them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2003
Mine came out really dry...if I make them again I would use larger olives and make the dough alot moister and cook them for less time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cheddar Bay Biscuits

Check out these quick and tasty cheddar biscuits.

Jalapeno Bacon Cheddar Deviled Eggs

A spicy change to regular deviled eggs.

Fried Mac and Cheese Balls

See how to turn mac ’n cheese into fun finger food!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States