Cheddar and Olive Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2002
I made this for alittle get together last night. I did add a few dashes of Tabasco. Everyone really enjoyed them. But watch out, the olives take awhile to cool...be careful on your first bite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2002
I used the largest jalepeno-stuffed olives I could find and made a half-batch. I also tried using meatballs, instead of olives, but it got a little dry. I served them at a party and they were the first thing to disappear.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2002
I was in a pinch for some party food so I made these. I baked a few today and froze the rest for tomorrow night's party. They taste absolutely fantastic! I didn't even get to chill today's, and they came out nice and round. I think I might have used less cheese than the recipe called for. The cheese I used was Jalepeno Jack, which seems to give it a good flavor. I used tiny olives without pimentos. I'll definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2002
I've made these for years - I always keep the pimento in the olives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2002
These are delicious! I couldn't bake them fast enough at our christmas party. I made them the night before and froze them, then baked them in three batches -- terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2003
These are wonderful going by the recipe exactly. For a variation and a real kid pleaser - do not wipe the olives dry before wrapping in Cheese dough. While baking, the cheese mixture slides off a little and has a wonderful sun flower appearance that is lacey, crunchy cheese surrounding the olive. Discovered this by accident! Be sure to bake on parchment paper and they slide right off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Caledonia, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2003
Sorry, but I have to say it. This is going to seem harsh and I know that we all have our own tastes. I wanted something different for our Superbowl party. But, I thought I'd better test it the day before. My husband and I both tried one and they were horrible. I tried to save them by just adding diced jalepenos and losing the olives. I made them into cheese crackers. It was to no avail. I threw away alot of ingredients and the recipe. I was not about to serve this to my guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sidney, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2003
I made these for a cocktail party using large olives stuffed with either pimento, garlic or jalepeno. They are addictive (especially the jalepeno). They're easy to make ahead, a definite crowd pleaser & go well with your favorite drink.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2003
I took these to a party and everyone (who liked olives in the first place) really enjoyed them. I should have made/taken more. I added a few dashes of worchestershire and used cayenne instead of paprika. (I like things spicy!) I made them the day before and froze them and I don't know if that's the trick, but mine came out perfectly round with none of the "slipping" mentioned by others. Oh, as written, the dough was a little dry, so I added some of the juice/brine from the jar. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PRUDY67

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2003
Made these for a family event, and they were a hit (even with me, and I'm not an olive-lover). However, I felt they could use a little extra something, and think next time I may try them with a dab of cream cheese in the center to tone down the olive a litte, and moisten them up a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Mac and Cheese Balls

See how to turn mac ’n cheese into fun finger food!

Bacon Cheddar Deviled Eggs

Make your deviled eggs better—with bacon!

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States