Cheddar and Olive Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
time consuming so I chopped the olives, mixed in the batter then made it into round cookie shaped rounds....all the flavor, alot less time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hannaford, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Fargo, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
I really wanted to like these but I just didn't. I love olives so I thought these would be great. I'm sorry but the taste was just not good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
these turned out great! i made them and served them right away! a total hit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
These were sooo yummuy! I will definitely be making these in the future for a party. Per another reviewer's suggestion, I added a little of the olive brine to the dough and it made it quite smooth. I also added a little ranch dressin mix instead of paprika for a zesty tang! I coated the olives in a little flour too, this enabled the dough to stick to the olive a little easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
This is alwasy a HUGE hit at get togethers. I've always found I need to add a little liquid to the mix but you have to be careful not to add to much or it will make the dough spread when it cooks. I've found the best way to make these is to make them ahead of time and freeze them. They seem to cook a lot better that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DENIRO0958

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
I finally found this recipe. My mother made these in the 60s & 70s for all their cocktail parties. So they are nostalgic for me. This is the exact recipe. Primo with dry, vodka martinis or Prosseco! Huge hit at a New Years Eve party 2007. Making again for 2008, and possibly every year to follow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
Really good! My family are all olive lovers and these were a huge hit! The dough is a little hard to work with and I added about twice the recommended water to make the dough easier to work with - it seemed to help a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CMUBlonde

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eaton Rapids, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
Love them, love them, love them! I always add garlic salt and hot sauce to taste. It gives them a great little kick! They are a great make ahead appetizer too. Just roll the balls and place them in an air tight container, you can keep them in the fridge or freeze them. I make a couple batches and then bake them as I need them during a get-together. The entire family loves them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michelle320

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
5 stars! Delicious! I added a dash of olive juice, dash of worschestire sauce, and a dash of hot sauce. Then I used red pepper flakes since I was out of paprika. I also halved the recipe and made 26 balls. I froze most of them to save for a party coming up. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian Kuhlmann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
Good recipe, it was a hit but they ended up looking like little hats, perhaps I used too much cheese. I also added a little red pepper so it had a nice little kick. I may make it again, they did taste great but presentation wasn't what I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheddar Bay Biscuits

Check out these quick and tasty cheddar biscuits.

Jalapeno Bacon Cheddar Deviled Eggs

A spicy change to regular deviled eggs.

Fried Mac and Cheese Balls

See how to turn mac ’n cheese into fun finger food!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States