Cheddar and Macaroni Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2002
This was a GOOD recipe but I changed a few things to make it EXCELLENT. First I doubled the Basic Recipe, then I added 1 C. Monterey Jack w/Jalapenos Cheese, 1/2 C. Purple Onion, 1 Jar Sliced Black Olives, 1 Jar Diced Pimento Peppers, 4 T. Fresh Chopped Cilantro. Everyone loved it at my BBQ and gave the recipe out to almost everyone . THANKS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2005
Held back a star because I made some crucial changes that seriously change the taste of the dish. I do NOT like sweet relish (I know most cold salads like this always use it, so I change it!), instead I used dill...and more of it...more like 1/4 cup. I added a little chopped cucumber (seeds removed), a dash of garlic powder, and used green onion in place of regular onion. Great base recipe though. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raoulysgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Linn Creek, Missouri, USA
Living In: Camdenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2003
I loved this! I cut the cheese in small cubes (finger nail size) and used a dill pickle instead of sweet (don't like) then I sprinkled paprika over the top. Next time I will use Miracle Whip instead of the mayo for the "zing" that it was missing and add some pepper too. Would be good with tuna. Thanks Karena, I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2005
This was a good recipe. The only adjustment I made was adding two hard boiled eggs. It seems the dressing was the perfect amount and didn't make it overly creamy like so many other recipes do. I will continue to use this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Recovery, Ohio, USA
Living In: Coldwater, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2001
I fixed this recipe for my 4th of July picnic, and everyone just loved it. I did use shredded cheddar instead of cubed cheddar, however. This recipe is definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chillicothe, Ohio, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2003
Pretty good. I did use miracle whip instead of mayo, omitted the peas, and used shredded cheddar cheese. Also, I took a previous reviewer's advice and added a jar of diced pimetos for color. Not much different than other pasta salads I've had before but still pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2002
Loved it! I did add more mayo and sour cream b/c I like my mac salads very creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
A nice, quick recipe. It does need a little something, and it tends to get a little dry after being in the fridge several hours (add a little more mayo and/or milk, and that helps a lot). I've made it a few times, and I'm still tweaking it. Garlic powder helps! I made it yesterday, added a little leftover chopped cooked chicken. That would make a great light lunch, would be awesome at work! Could probably add tuna without hurting the recipe... Oh, one more thing: I always put in dill relish instead of sweet relish, the pickle adds extra yumminess! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2002
This recipe was great! I made this for a camping trip the night before, and having it set overnight really brought out the flavors. I will make this anytime. Very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
This is THE macaroni salad my family and friends absolutely love. I've been making this salad for years, but do change the vegetable ingredients at times, according to what I have on hand. Instead of using all green pepper, I might use half green, half red, red onion or green onions if regular onions are not in the fridge. For the cheddar, I use a mixture of 1 part orange cheddar & 2 parts white cheddar, as I'm more fond of white chedder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

Classic Macaroni Salad

See how to make a classic deli-style pasta salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States