Cheddar and Macaroni Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
The whole family liked this and I liked the flavor as well. I added a little bit of extra sour cream since we love it around here. I also added garlic powder, salt, pepper, dill, and chives to spice it up and it needed it. I think it would have been bland otherwise. I would have taken 1 star off because it was a little dry but my daughter wouldn't let me- she loved this. Next time, I will just double the sauce part and add a little more milk to make it creamier. This does make a large bowl and we ate it all in 2 days. Thanks for sharing- this is a great recipe with a few tweaks. By the way, I loved the cheese. It would probably be even better with a sharp cheddar instead of mild.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
ok, not great. something seemed "off" with the taste, can't explain it. it just needed something else to give it a little "zip"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
This recipe was very good,made some small changes though to suit my taste. I left out the relish, milk and peas added some dill as someone else had mentioned, i also used yellow bell pepper because thats what i had and a bit more dressing . Overall a very good base to start from mabey next time i would even add some cherrie tomatoes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jamie2003
Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
I made this as is and found it was VERY close to the mac salad i love in our markets deli. But it was alittle dry.Then i added 1/4 tsp garlic powder and 1/4 tsp celery salt and a small jar of pimiento to it, a little milk and that is all it took to make it taste like the deli mac salad i love infact it is even better :0 I will be makeing this again again Thank you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Tomah, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marilyn
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
This is a pretty good recipe, nothing special, but I'm sure I'll make it again and just keep looking and trying new ones. I would probably have to suggest adding red bell pepper instead of green mainly just for color, the green peas and the green pepper give it too much green. All in all, the recipe was ok. I took the picture in my new temp-tations bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marilyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Caney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
I made it exactly as directed and really liked it. Next time I might add a bit of mustard to the dressing to give it a bit of tang.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
This has a wonderful taste. I added a little more Mayo and sour cream to make it creamier. I used green onions and left out the green pepper and peas. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Lynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cypress, California, USA
Living In: Murrieta, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
This was so delicious, a huge hit at my cookout. I did make some changes. I left out the celery and peas. I had to add a little more sour cream/mayo so that it wasn't too dry. I also added dill. It was soooo good. Definitely making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HomeschoolMom78

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bartlesville, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
This was very good! I enjoyed it very much. Only thing I did different was add cucumbers and used canned peas because I can't stand frozen ones! :o) Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Gurley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lodgepole, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
Pretty good. I think I would like it better with a stronger-flavored cheese for more punch. I didn't feel using mild cheddar did much for the salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Webster City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

Classic Macaroni Salad

See how to make a classic deli-style pasta salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States