CheckerBoard Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I've done this recipe many times and it's come out well every time. It is really dry, but once you knead it with your hands for a little bit on the cutting board you'll be using. It's also better to not melt the butter--just soften it in the microwave if it's right out of the the fridge. For sticks, I do 15 seconds and it usually works well. I usually stack 4 by 4 and it bakes in the oven for 9 minutes and turns out great. It is only cocoa powder in it, so the chocolate is pretty bitter, but it's not terrible; the vanilla sets it off pretty well. Overall good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly93

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I made these because they looked fun, and since it was marked as a "Staff Pick" I thought it must be good. It was not fun at all and not very good. The cookies that made it all the way through the assembly and baking fell apart when I tried to move them to the cooling rack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
I love these cookies and I thought they were sweet though instead of 1 1/4 cup confectioners' sugar I used 1 cup conf. sugar and 1/4 cup granulated sugar (I ran out of conf. sugar!). Also I made the mistake at first of not cutting the butter in and couldn't understand why the dough was just crumble! But then I reread direction 1. and realized I hadn't read it properly (skipped over butter) - "Cut in the BUTTER until the mixture has a mealy texture."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Blender Woman
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
I feel bad for the submitter because it seems there is: "clearly a missing ingredient." Had I not had a lot of experience with baking I would more likely had done as the other reviewers and not bother trying to get it to form a ball or rolling it out as the dough was both dry and hard. But, I was motivated to get the dough to work some how and kept messing with it. I used a hand mixer with a dough attachment to get it mixed. And, then spent quite some time trying to get it to roll out as it was so stiff yet easily crumbily. It might be missing a liquid or more fat, I am not sure? The flavor is a tad bland for some reason also. That may also be because of what I feel is a missing ingredient. I did follow the recipe exactly. The concept was interesting anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
I love these cookies ever since my Grandma made them for me when I was a little girl. Now that I live on my own with my boyfriend, it was my turn to make them myself this year! This is an excellent recipe, the only difference in how I make them is to make ropes of each flavor instead of using strips. I recommend that method to those who complained about the difficult of rolling out the dough. Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristen
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
These cookies are difficult to make and taste bland. I made them despite the mixed reviews because my 12 year old son begged me to and then he only ate 1 cookie because he didn't like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
Good cookie. I changed it up a little bit and made them red and green for christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2007
VERY DISAPPOINTING! I can't even roll this dough out to cut it it's all crumble. I've added a few drops of water...still crumbles, I've added a little more egg...still crumble. I can't believe I have to back to the store to buy more ingredients to make a different kind of cookie and waste all of this. This recipe does not work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
This cookie wasn't hard to make, however I found it wasn't worth the time. I wanted to make something interesting for my husband's work, and found the dough was not only crumbly when you tried to work with it after following the directions exactly, it was also a little tough. the flavor, however was fine, I just prefer cookies that don't take forever to make and actually hold together. Also, when the chocolate was added, the dough got even drier. The cookie took on a misshapen appearance while baking, where the "vanilla" part got puffier than the chocolate, and they kind of made "kite" shapes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DASHONBURTON
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2005
I love these cookies because of the mystifying pattern. I found the dough hard to work with when I had just made it, so I chilled the rolled-out rectangles in the fridge for about an hour before cutting them into strips and arranging them in the right pattern. That way the squares had crisp edges. Then I did an egg-wash and chilled the dough overnight before baking. I substituted hot cocoa mix for the cocoa powder and it worked fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

How to Make Cookies

Follow this simple recipe for perfect homemade cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States