Cheating Cheeseburger Macaroni Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by traceyposner
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
We liked this recipe. It was easy to prepare and quick to get on the table on a busy weeknight. I substituted Italian sausage for the ground beef and Healthy Request creamed soups. I threw in some frozen broccoli for added color. Because I didn't have any penne pasta, I used small shells instead. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by traceyposner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
It was way too salty and I felt like I was just eating a pound of cheese, you can't taste anything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zanymexican

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
I don't often rate recipes but I had to rate this one. This isn't a gourmet sit down with your date type of meal. But I have two kids who don't agree on ANY meals and one who is beyond picky and both loved this. My husband and I agreed it was good. So, for a quick,simple,inexpensive meal which made four people with totally different tastes in food all happy and full - you have to give it five stars! I think it's on the "bland" side, but I don't think that's bad if you have kids who don't have adventurous palates. And it beats the heck out of hamburger helper. I'm keeping it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
I used about 10 oz spiral noodles, 1lb ground beef, 1 can cream of cheddar, 1 can cream of onion, 2 beef boullion cubes and seasoning salt. Everybody liked it. Easy! Oniony taste but my kids still liked it because technically no pieces of onion in it. Tastes sorta like Lipton onion soup. Definitely not a fancy dish, but certainly kid and family friendly. Next time I might try Cream of Chicken and Cream of Cheddar for a less oniony taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
This is a great way to make cheeseburger Mac without all of the preservatives in the boxed version. To make it even healthier I used ground turkey and whole wheat macaroni. I prefer it thicker so I used much less water, about 1/4 cup. I'm a fan of seasonings so I also used chopped bell pepper, onion and green onion when cooking the ground turkey and some Cajun spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
blah. It tasted too much like cream of chicken soup. Flavored hamburger with onion, pepper and garlic. left out the cream of onion soup, used milk instead of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marty Rupp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
This was easy, fast, and it made a huge pan full. I used 1/2 tsp. dried minced onion and 1/2 tsp. onion powder since I didn't have any cream of onion soup. I couldn't even find that in the store. It was already very saucy and I don't think it needed the extra can of soup anyway now that I have made it. I'd leave out the chicken soup too as it was very soupy/saucy. I added in some shredded sharp cheddar cheese and some Velveeta because DH thought the sour cream took away from the cheese flavor. I only had a lb. of ground beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
I liked this dish. I made a few changes and used what I had on hand. I used I can cream of chicken 1 can cream of mushroon. instead of chedd cheese soup I used shredded American. didnt have any sour cream so I used cream cheese and I added some broccoli. to my surprize it was very good and kids and husband enjoyed it as well. will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
I would not make this dish again. It was missing something. I couldn't find the cream of chicken with herbs, so I added some herbs to the sauce. Still didn't make it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kittenmarie1001

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
devilishly delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Old School Mac 'N Cheese

This is homemade mac 'n cheese just like grandma used to make.

Four-Cheese Macaroni

Watch how to make this top-rated macaroni and cheese recipe.

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States