Cheater's Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2002
This was fabulous! I changed it up a little bit by substituting the olives for canned, diced green chiles and sauteed onion. Also used red enchilada sauce. Easy to make and extremely tasty! I will definitely make this recipe again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VD711

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Batavia, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2002
I love this recipe. Instead of using the real cheese and Sour cream you can sub it with the soy or non-dairy stuff and it still comes out yummy. My parents loved it. You can play around with it and make it your own. I'm a college student and it helps to have one basic recipe that you can change as needed. It's also good the next day if there's any left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2004
This recipe was very good. I added 1 lb. cooked ground beef seasoned w/taco seasoning in the middle layers. Also used a Mexican Blend cheese and red enchilada sauce, and some refried beans(canned kind)in the layers. The top layer of enchilada sauce I covered with more of the mexican cheese. It turned out great! Even my picky 5 year old ate it! We did like it a lot better with extra sour cream on it while we were eating it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JINKIESSCOOBY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Paragould, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2002
Delicious! Our store didn't have green enchilada sauce, but we sufficed with red. In the middle layer I added chunky salsa with diced chipotle peppers. I also added some garbanzo beans that I had sauteed with onions, garlic, green peppers, cumin, chili powder, and cayenne. This was so good!!! We like things a little more spicy and the addition of the chipotle and cayenne was fab!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warwick, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2002
I'm just a girl of 13, but I L-O-V-E cooking. When my history teacher assigned my class a Mexican cooking project, I didn't know what to do!!! I looked all over the 'net, and found some recipes, but they were almost a mile long. This recipe is short and easy to understand. More cooking websites should have simple recipes like this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2001
As much as I hate to say it, my family liked this dish more than the enchiladas I slave hours over. They ate the whole pan in one sitting, and were disappointed I didn't make more. I have one picky eater who hates sour cream, so I omitted it on half of the casserole. A fabulous and QUICK meal!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
Surprisingly tasty and full of authentic Mexican food taste. The cheese and sour cream mixture blends wells as it cooks to make a creamy filling. The recipe does leave out the final steps. You must sprinkle the remaining cheese and olives over the top layer of enchilada sauce. This is a good pot-luck dish, as it makes a large cassarole dish full and a very pretty presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn Duckett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Magnolia, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2003
One of the few highly-rated recipes from this site that have been a complete disappointment. Very bland and heavy. Didn't care for it at all. Made the mistake of making it for guests the first time I made it. Ended up throwing out most of the pan. Definetely will not make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Wilbraham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2002
It was very dry. The filling tasted really good if you added beans, and some jalapenos, but the way the recipe says to add the sauce leaves the middle really dry. Next time, I'd flavor the sauce some more and put more sauce bewteen the layers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2003
Very easy and fast. I needed to double so I made 4 layers of 6 tortillas, and used probably about twice as much sour cream and cheese. I used a mixture of Jack and Colby cheeses. I didn't put in the olives, but did mix in chopped green chilies, as well as some garlic powder, salt, pepper and chili powder into the sour cream mixture, just to spice it up a little. Topped the whole dish with extra grated cheese. Yum - will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Enchiladas

These simple vegetarian enchiladas star spinach and two kinds of cheese.

Savory Halibut Enchiladas

See how to make deliciously different seafood enchiladas.

Easy Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy chicken enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States