Cheater's Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 24, 2009
This was really easy but TOO rich. I added jalapenos to spice it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2009
I thought this was good but my daughter absolutely hated it, she put it at the top of the foods she hates list. It does not look very appetizing or smell very good...but it tastes better than it looks or tastes. I'll probably make it again someday but it won't be a frequent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Iron River, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
Well, this was just cheese and more cheese. I need a killer sauce, ample seasonings, and, some vegetables aside from a smattering of olives. I took the basic concept of this but made a nice and easy enchilada sauce using tomato paste, chili powder, corn flour, and spices. I filled half the tortillas with a smashed potato and turnip mixture, and the others with cheese, spinach, and mushrooms. Didn't use the sour cream. I have also thought about trying a lentil mash in place of the potato mixture. Next time I'll add some TVP (textured vegetable protein) for bulk. Top the casserole with just a scant handful of yellow cheddar cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Parran

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: College Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Amherst, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
This is a wonderful quick and easy recipe. I add about twice as many black olives, and I use the ones with jalapeno when I can find them. I have also done an extra layer of tortillas on the top with extra cheese to make it a thicker dish. This stuff is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
I think this recipe should be more appropriately named, "enchilada lasagna." Its not bad, but does not reheat well due to the sour cream and tortillas - the tortillas become mushy and slimy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
Surprisingly tasty and full of authentic Mexican food taste. The cheese and sour cream mixture blends wells as it cooks to make a creamy filling. The recipe does leave out the final steps. You must sprinkle the remaining cheese and olives over the top layer of enchilada sauce. This is a good pot-luck dish, as it makes a large cassarole dish full and a very pretty presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn Duckett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Magnolia, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
I like using this recipe for a base. The original one is a little bland for my family's taste but it's great because you can add whatever your family likes to it. We add onions and whatever else we have or are in the mood for that night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
muy delicioso!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
Awesome! I love easy dishes. I think it would be great with some shredded chicken too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
this recipe was great, I also used the red sauce instead of green. It was fast and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Enchiladas

These simple vegetarian enchiladas star spinach and two kinds of cheese.

Savory Halibut Enchiladas

See how to make deliciously different seafood enchiladas.

Easy Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy chicken enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States