Cheater's Apple Strudel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
Amazing! My first time making a strudel and was a complete success! My other half doesn't like apples so I made it with sliced strawberries and amazinggggg
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
Just Made this and KNEW I would love it so I made a double batch of the filling. I used chopped pecans since I didn't have almonds. Also-I guess my baking sheet wasn't long enough so I had a rectangle of dough left over. No sweat though-I made a mini one right along side the big one! The parchment paper helped me a lot when rolling it up as I think I let my puff pastry sheets get too warm. All in all-very good recipe. I put the rest of the filling in the freezer but I'm betting it won't stay there long! Thank you for posting this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
This was amazing - it was gone in one day! The butterscotch chips is a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by clara
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
This strudel is totally awesome. I made half of the amount. Sprinkled a bit of flour with my apples so that the juice will thicken while baking. I didn't have any chips or almonds unfortunately...Before baking, i spread some egg yolk on the surface of the strudel to give it a lovely brown. My bf loved it! Thanks alot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by clara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
I loved this quick and simple recipe. I forgot to put the sugar on the top of the strudel, so I made an almond glaze and drizzled that on top instead. It was a nice touch. ....Stir together 1/2 cup confectioners sugar, 1 T milk 1/2 tsp. almond extract . When partly cooled, drizzle on top of strudel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
This is a good basic recipe for quick strudel. My family enjoyed it and it didn't take the whole day to make! I made the recipe as written but used caramel ice cream syrup instead of the butterscotch chips. Gives it a richer flavor and more even sweetness it also doesn't have lumps of chips if you serve it cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
Lost this recipe, many moons ago, which my family so enjoyed. Thanks for posting it... what a gift. This may be "Cheater's" Apple Strudel, but it tastes like Non-cheaters!. It's a fantastic, fast, easy, satisfying recipe to make and serve. Thanks again Melody!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
Absolutely fantastic! I loved it! The taste of the puff pastry is so light and flaky, and the inside of apples/cinnamon, etc., made for a very tasty strudel. I have never made a strudel before, but the directions were very simple and easy to follow. I waited until my strudel was of room temperature to try it and it tasted heavenly. I now wish i had made 2 or 3 of them to put in the freezer for a rainy day. Will make an excellent breakfast treat, or a quick snack when home from work. If you are looking for a very simple strudel recipie, try this one. I don't think you will be disappointed. NOTE: I only used four small apples instead of 6. I think 6 apples would have been way too many. Four apples seemed to work perfectly. Thank you Melody, for a wonderful recipie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joyfullnoize

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MELISSV01
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
Fantastic "cheaters" recipe! I agree with the first user that 6 apples were wayyy too much. I used around 3, although a lot of the "juice" leaked out and led to a slightly less ideal pastry to apple ratio. Next time, I'll have to be sure to REALLY seal the pastry edges to seal in the filling. Additionally, I didn't have butterscotch chips, but substituted dried cherries, which was delightful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
Fantastic! Very easy to make with lots of flavour. I did not have the nuts so I doubled the butterscotch chips. There were too many apples though and I will cut them down next time to about 3.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Easy Apple Strudel

This delicious dessert looks and tastes fancy, but whips up in minutes.

Apple Hand Pies

See how to make perfect apple turnovers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States