Cheater Pot Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
We just finished this pot pie and it was YUMMY. I made the changes that the first reader said and used broth instead of milk. I also used "real" chicken that I boiled beforehand. It was soooo easy!!! And I was actually surprised how good it was b/c it was so easy to make. I also used crescent rolls instead of biscuits b/c that is what I had on hand. I put half on bottom and cooked them before I cooked the rest of the pie and that worked well also. Very good meal that I will definitely be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
I used pie crusts(one for the top and bottom) instead of biscuits for this. Used one can of cream of celery and one of cream of chicken. I also added small chunks of potatoes in the veggie mix. I did not use canned chicken, I used chicken breasts. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
My husband and I are addicted to this. I make it almost once a week! I use pillsbury crescent rolls spread flat on the bottom bake until light brown then add the mix ( I just use one can of crm of chicken soup and no milk needed, it was plenty creamy!) then top with the crescent rolls spread out flat again until its browned. yum, yum yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
Absolutely delicious. I've made this several times making no substitutions and it came out great. Last week I accidentally picked up the butter flavored biscuits instead of the regular. It was incredible, so now I plan to pick up the butter flavored biscuits every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Southport, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
Followed the basic recipe with a few personal adjustments to suit my family's taste and it turned out well. I will use this recipe when in a hurry, but still like my classic crust made from scratch. Thanks for the nice change!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
I am not a big pot pie fan to begin with, but my husband is, so I thought I would surprise him with this recipe. Unfortunately, he was not into the biscuits in place of the regular pie crust. I also tried to follow some other reviewers suggestions like not using the canned chicken, and I think that was a very good idea overall. I also used flatter-type biscuits as recommended and baked the bottom layer separately, but still found that they were too soggy for our liking underneath the top layer. I can see how some people may like this, hence the 3 star rating, but I think it would take a lot of tweaking and I really wanted something quick. I also read other later reviews that I think could have helped make this better (like baking the top layer of biscuits separately on a cookie sheet), but again I was going for something really quick and I ended up with multiple trips in and out of the oven and a meal we really werent impressed with. You know the old saying.... cheaters never win.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Schuylkill Haven, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
This was very watery and had no flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
This is a very good recipe! Quick and easy, but tastes great!! I did make a few modifications after the first time I made it though: I used canned mixed veggies instead of frozen (my fiance doesn't like the "toughness" of frozen veggies), I use one can of cream of chicken soup and one can of cream of celery soup, I use evaporated milk instead of regular milk (we drink skim milk, and sometimes soy milk, so evaporated milk tends to create a much richer/thicker sauce), I added about 1/2 teaspoon of Mrs. Dash and 1/2 teaspoon of Morton's Nature Seasoning, and I use the cheap (non-layered) biscuits from Aldi/Kroger/Wal-Mart and just stick individual biscuits on top. Tastes great everytime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LiLGarnsey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Gay, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Fredericktown, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
Really tasty!! I used frozen "stew mix" vegetables (potatoes, carrots, celery, and onions) and put a little shredded cheddar cheese in there as well. Also used some boneless skinless chicken breast I had in the freezer instead of the canned chunks. Overall, everyone enjoyed this dish. I will definitely make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
Very Yummy! I'd give it 5 stars if it were healthier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Kuessner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 219) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey and Veggie Alfredo Pot Pie

See how to turn leftovers into a super-simple pot pie.

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States